Gob Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
PERFECT Gob Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
The cake was good but the icing tasted horrible!! All we could taste was butter and.. greece??? But we took some off then we refrigerated some of it with icing and some without the icing tasted but when it good cold and hard!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 17stapsara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
didnt go over well at our house. Frosting could have been sweeter for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This is delicious. The first time I made it, it had lumps of flour in it. The second time, I mixed the dry ingredients first and then heated the water before adding the remaining ingredients, which helped a lot. And also, I use my own butter cream frosting recipe (butter, vanilla, confectioner's sugar, and a tablespoon half-and-half. Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ismene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Very good! I had no idea what I was making before beginning this recipe and never had even heard of Gob cake before...But, just had a craving for cake and happend to have all the right ingredients. I can't believe how soft this turned out. I actually made them into cupcakes...they really melt in your mouth even 3 days later. Will likely make again! If I had anything I would change, is I would add chocolate chips into the mixture to give it a stronger chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made this as cupcakes for a valentines treat for my co-workers. They were very moist and everyone loved them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYJO7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
For the life of me I can't figure why some folks did not like this recipe - it truly was Excellent! Moist and sweet, everything you'd want in a rich chocolate cake...It's even better the next day! Three very simple changes I made: #1)added 1/2 cup of light brown sugar...#2) used 3 tblspns of regular Hershey's Cocoa and when I ran out I used 3 tblspns of Dark Hershey's Cocoa...# 3) Make sure you realize the last 5 ingredients are for the author's icing...I make my own as follows: 1 stick of softened butter (salted), 1 stick of softened cream cheese (Philadelphia), and add powdered sugar to desired sweetness (approx. 1-2 cups) and you're done! I used a 13x9 rectangular non-stick pan and left it in there when iced and served (even decorated with Easter Sprinkles!...felt like a kid again). Great recipe, especially if you don't have any eggs handy. My hubby and guests asked for seconds! This recipe is definitely a keeper, would be a great birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
The cake recipe is great because the ingredients are often on hand in the house. The icing recipe was really bad and tasted like shortening. I just made a fluffy white icing instead. Grease/flour the pan even though it says not to. I didn't and it stuck to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
yum! made this a few months ago and just getting around to rating. my four-year-old begs for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made this cake for work today and everyone was shocked at how bad it tasted. I cook for work all the time and win awards on occasion. I was in a hurry last night and thought I'd try this recipe because I had all the ingredients on hand. My coworkers compared it to meatloaf with icing. I don't know what a gob is, but my guess is that I don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States