Gob Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This is SO YUMMY and does taste like a gob (whoopie pie). I did not use the frosting. I used a much easier, fool proof recipe. Beat 3 cups powdered sugar with 1/3 cup softened butter. Add 1 teaspoon vanilla and gradually beat in 1-2 tablespoons of milk until frosting is spreadable. MMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
My husband can't stop raving about this cake. However, I didn't use the icing it suggested. I used a cream cheese icing instead... just because I had it leftover from another cake. We're originally from PA and this reminded us of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I have to say, I have never had a whoopie pie or a "gob," but this cake tastes exactly like those little hostess chocolate cupcakes with the cream filling I remember eating as a kid. My husband, who is allergic to eggs and can't have most cakes, absolutely loved it. For me it was very easy to make with ingredients I always have on hand. It tasted great with caramel frosting. Next time I might try to inject some cream into it and frost it with chocolate frosting... maybe I'll even try cupcakes. There was no question in my husband's mind that this recipe gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I tried this recipe because I wanted to make a gob cake, but didn't have a chocolate cake mix on hand and had no time to run to the store. I was a little skeptical as to how it would compare to my usual recipe that contains milk, eggs, and instant pudding, but it turned out great and everyone loved it! I baked it in two round pans lined with parchment for easier removal of the cake, and used my own recipe for the filling, which is very light and fluffy. Imitation Whipped Cream Filling: Combine 5 T. flour and 1 c. milk, and cook until thick. When cool, add 1 c. sugar, 1/2 c. softened butter and 1/2 c. shortening. Beat at high speed for several minutes until smooth and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I'm not sure that I'm entitled to rate this recipe because of the extensive changes that I made. I was originally going for a whoopie pie recipe which led me to gob cakes (a name apparently limited to PA borders since I'm in MD and have never heard it called by that name). This recipe sounded the best of the gob cake/whoopie pie selection. One thing I didn't take into account was that this was a "cake" so after mixing it, it was way too runny to be used for individual whoopie pies. I added an additional 1 - 1 1/2 cups of flour (I didn't measure, I just kept adding until the consistency was right). For the icing, I used a previous reviewers recipe of 3c powdered sugar, 1/3c butter, 1t vanilla, and 1-2T milk just because the butter and shortening in icing sounded too greasy for me. Overall, the whoopie/gob pies were very good and snack time after school for my 3 children was silent (they were too busy devouring the pies to talk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I love Gobs from PA and this recipe tasted just like them. I have made the cake twice and it is very moist. The second time I made it, I added a little peanut butter to the icing and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spin12
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I used two round pans for this recipe, and put the icing between the layers. The cocoa could definitely be tasted in the recipe (a bit bitter), but the cake is extremely moist. I used my own gob icing recipe and this really did taste like a large gob. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
The cake portion of this was incredibly moist and wonderful and tasted just like the cake portion of a gob. The icing, however, was a bit of a mess. While beating it for the 10 minutes, it became a kind of runny mess - maybe it was the shortening? I finally added some confectioners sugar, which made it a little better. It still tasted good, but looked strange. I'll make again with a different icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This cake is delicious. I have made it 4 times now and everytime it turns out wonderfully. Everytime I take a bite I am reminded of whoopies pies from Pennsylvania. It is even better with peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I was nervous-this was such an odd blend of ingredients and no eggs, I was encouraged to try it from other reviews. It worked beautifully. I followed others advice and did not use the icing recipe, I chose the mocha icing recipe from this site. WOW, really a knock out dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States