Gob Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I love Gobs from PA and this recipe tasted just like them. I have made the cake twice and it is very moist. The second time I made it, I added a little peanut butter to the icing and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
I made this cake for my mother-inlaws birthday. The cake is very easy to make and really tastes like a gob. I will be making this many more times in the future and would recommend the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
The cake portion of this was incredibly moist and wonderful and tasted just like the cake portion of a gob. The icing, however, was a bit of a mess. While beating it for the 10 minutes, it became a kind of runny mess - maybe it was the shortening? I finally added some confectioners sugar, which made it a little better. It still tasted good, but looked strange. I'll make again with a different icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
My husband can't stop raving about this cake. However, I didn't use the icing it suggested. I used a cream cheese icing instead... just because I had it leftover from another cake. We're originally from PA and this reminded us of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This is SO YUMMY and does taste like a gob (whoopie pie). I did not use the frosting. I used a much easier, fool proof recipe. Beat 3 cups powdered sugar with 1/3 cup softened butter. Add 1 teaspoon vanilla and gradually beat in 1-2 tablespoons of milk until frosting is spreadable. MMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I loved the cake! It tasted great! I had to adjust the cooking time slightly as it didn't seem quite done. I used a peanutbutter frosting recipe as someone had suggested, and it was a hit with my family! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This cake is delicious. I have made it 4 times now and everytime it turns out wonderfully. Everytime I take a bite I am reminded of whoopies pies from Pennsylvania. It is even better with peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I have to say, I have never had a whoopie pie or a "gob," but this cake tastes exactly like those little hostess chocolate cupcakes with the cream filling I remember eating as a kid. My husband, who is allergic to eggs and can't have most cakes, absolutely loved it. For me it was very easy to make with ingredients I always have on hand. It tasted great with caramel frosting. Next time I might try to inject some cream into it and frost it with chocolate frosting... maybe I'll even try cupcakes. There was no question in my husband's mind that this recipe gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this cake. It tastes just like the actual gob itself! Icing and all turned out just the way it was supposed to. I'll definitly be making this again! Thanks for the great recipe and GOD Bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I'm not sure that I'm entitled to rate this recipe because of the extensive changes that I made. I was originally going for a whoopie pie recipe which led me to gob cakes (a name apparently limited to PA borders since I'm in MD and have never heard it called by that name). This recipe sounded the best of the gob cake/whoopie pie selection. One thing I didn't take into account was that this was a "cake" so after mixing it, it was way too runny to be used for individual whoopie pies. I added an additional 1 - 1 1/2 cups of flour (I didn't measure, I just kept adding until the consistency was right). For the icing, I used a previous reviewers recipe of 3c powdered sugar, 1/3c butter, 1t vanilla, and 1-2T milk just because the butter and shortening in icing sounded too greasy for me. Overall, the whoopie/gob pies were very good and snack time after school for my 3 children was silent (they were too busy devouring the pies to talk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States