Gob Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I thought this cake turned out great, It was super moist and tasted awesome, just like a GOB, But the icing tasted like shortning, I think it could've used more sugar, Or confectionate sugar for a sweeter taste. I will make this cake for my family reunion, but I will use a different icing,I also emptied the whole cake in a pan and then cut threw the middle, putting the icing in the middle and nothing on the top so that it had a more Gob effect. But it is still being eaten, So the icing isn't too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I followed the recipe and divided into 2 9" pans. I only used 1 and cut it into 2 layers. I put the whipped filling in between and topped with raspberry preserves. I then frosted with chocolate frosting. The Raspberry really enhanched the flavor. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This did not care for this recipe...it took FOREVER to cook the whole way through and the icing was nothing like gob icing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
A success everytime I made this cake. It is so moist and tastes just like a chocolate gob, only it is easier to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTY72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Newton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I'm not sure that I'm entitled to rate this recipe because of the extensive changes that I made. I was originally going for a whoopie pie recipe which led me to gob cakes (a name apparently limited to PA borders since I'm in MD and have never heard it called by that name). This recipe sounded the best of the gob cake/whoopie pie selection. One thing I didn't take into account was that this was a "cake" so after mixing it, it was way too runny to be used for individual whoopie pies. I added an additional 1 - 1 1/2 cups of flour (I didn't measure, I just kept adding until the consistency was right). For the icing, I used a previous reviewers recipe of 3c powdered sugar, 1/3c butter, 1t vanilla, and 1-2T milk just because the butter and shortening in icing sounded too greasy for me. Overall, the whoopie/gob pies were very good and snack time after school for my 3 children was silent (they were too busy devouring the pies to talk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this cake. It tastes just like the actual gob itself! Icing and all turned out just the way it was supposed to. I'll definitly be making this again! Thanks for the great recipe and GOD Bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I have to say, I have never had a whoopie pie or a "gob," but this cake tastes exactly like those little hostess chocolate cupcakes with the cream filling I remember eating as a kid. My husband, who is allergic to eggs and can't have most cakes, absolutely loved it. For me it was very easy to make with ingredients I always have on hand. It tasted great with caramel frosting. Next time I might try to inject some cream into it and frost it with chocolate frosting... maybe I'll even try cupcakes. There was no question in my husband's mind that this recipe gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This cake is delicious. I have made it 4 times now and everytime it turns out wonderfully. Everytime I take a bite I am reminded of whoopies pies from Pennsylvania. It is even better with peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I loved the cake! It tasted great! I had to adjust the cooking time slightly as it didn't seem quite done. I used a peanutbutter frosting recipe as someone had suggested, and it was a hit with my family! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This is SO YUMMY and does taste like a gob (whoopie pie). I did not use the frosting. I used a much easier, fool proof recipe. Beat 3 cups powdered sugar with 1/3 cup softened butter. Add 1 teaspoon vanilla and gradually beat in 1-2 tablespoons of milk until frosting is spreadable. MMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States