Gob Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
its good but noot enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef M.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bayport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was delightful and soooooo easy to make!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
will never make this cake again took forever to cook through and icing is not worth the ingredients and time !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Sullivan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Never heard of the word 'Gob' Cake in Australia. Very moist and so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is the best egg-free cake recipe I have found yet! My son is severly allergic to eggs and peanuts and I have had some horrible experiences with egg-free recipes. I actually made cupcakes with this recipe and they turned out SO YUMMY!!! They are a great texture and perfect for decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I tried this recipe because I wanted to make a gob cake, but didn't have a chocolate cake mix on hand and had no time to run to the store. I was a little skeptical as to how it would compare to my usual recipe that contains milk, eggs, and instant pudding, but it turned out great and everyone loved it! I baked it in two round pans lined with parchment for easier removal of the cake, and used my own recipe for the filling, which is very light and fluffy. Imitation Whipped Cream Filling: Combine 5 T. flour and 1 c. milk, and cook until thick. When cool, add 1 c. sugar, 1/2 c. softened butter and 1/2 c. shortening. Beat at high speed for several minutes until smooth and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I didn't care for this recipe, my frosting turned out a bit on the runny side and the cake a bit hard. Chances are i won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Photo by spin12
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I used two round pans for this recipe, and put the icing between the layers. The cocoa could definitely be tasted in the recipe (a bit bitter), but the cake is extremely moist. I used my own gob icing recipe and this really did taste like a large gob. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
absolutely wonderful! Very moist and tasty. I did not use the icing recipe though, I used my own buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I was nervous-this was such an odd blend of ingredients and no eggs, I was encouraged to try it from other reviews. It worked beautifully. I followed others advice and did not use the icing recipe, I chose the mocha icing recipe from this site. WOW, really a knock out dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States