Goat Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brittany Dykes
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
AWESOME! I LOVED IT! I marinated the meat for 12 hours! The meat is very delicious! I didn't add everything that the recipe said and also changed a few ingredients, but all in all it is great and this was my first time cooking goat! Definitely would do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Dykes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Recipe was great and am sure beef could have been substituted but goat needs to be boiled 2 hours first to soften then do original recipe using boiled water as base for stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
My husband and I enjoyed this dish. I did not use any additional salt based on a couple of the reviewer's warnings, and I doubled the vegetables. Other than that, I followed the recipe. This is the first time I cooked goat, so it was a risk. However, we eat lamb regularly. If you like lamb, I think you'll like goat. Definitely a keeper for us, and now I want to try more goat meat recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I think this recipe has potential. This is my first time cooking goat, and it came out on the tougher side. I think it needs to be simmered way longer. I used apple cider vinegar and replaced some of the soy sauce with low-sodium soy sauce. I also used diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce because it's what I had on hand and added a splash of ketchup. Taste-wise, it was very good - not too sour, salty or sweet - a perfect balance. Just need to get the goat less tough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was a great Sunday stew! I loved the suggestion about adding butternut squash. Can't say enough good things about a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
So salty, sour, and gamey. I'm not a picky eater and have never given anything less than 3 stars. At the very least to reduce the salt taste, I'd recommend substituting water for the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Way too salty, way too tomatoey, and we even used less than the recommended amounts of soy sauce and tomato sauce! Definitely will not make again, and if I could rate this lower I would for sure. I have NO idea how this is rated so highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
WOW !!! Thank you very much Olivia Tuggle !!! On a scale of 1-100, this is a 100. WARNING: You may find yourself starting to like leftovers, eating it 3 times a day, licking your fingers and plate, and eating 1/3 of it at the counter b/s you can't stop to get more comfy. TRIPLE+ the recipe and definitely use lots of water for sauce and lots of rice for soaking it. I used some extra finely crushed red pepper and finely chopped tomatoes (and a bit of paprika) b/s I didn't have cayenne pepper and tomato sauce. The final taste is really a combo of hot, salty, sweet and sour - WOW !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was delicious. I added sweet potatoes, buttercup squash, and chipotle peppers. I didnt have red peppers but this was so satisfying , I had no cravings after because its so complete - sour. spice. bitter, sweet, and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CasablancasGrl86
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
It smelled gamey at first but everything came out really yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States