Goat Cheese and Spinach Turkey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
These were really yummy! I used Chavrie with basil and garlic. The amount of cheese called for in the recipe was just right - I tried it a second time with more and it was too strong. These are great cooked on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Have wanted to try this one for a long time now. Excellent results. Used extra lean turkey and extra goat cheese. Chose a cheese flavored with thyme and red pepper (already crumbled). Added one egg and about 1/3 to 1/2 a cup of seasoned bread crumbs as per other reviews. Also added some dried basil and garlic powder. To half the mixture I added the spinach but the BF isn't a fan so I made his with a little chipotle tabasco sauce in the mix and sprinkled the outside with seasoning salt (which he loves). He ate his plain on a grilled kaiser roll and loved it. I ate mine with a little chipotle mayo (not necessary) and carmelized onions...no bun. I loved mine as well. The fat content in the meat was so low we didn't need to wash the fat tray from our George Forman (we don't have a grill). Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
followed as directed. My husband liked them (he took it off the bun and ate it by itself), I just thought it was good but not great... maybe add some seasonings to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Very very good burgers. Next time I will cut back on the spinach and add a tablespoon more goat cheese (I prefer cheese). The cheese is easier to crumble if it's been in the fridge for a while. Also, make sure the cheese is evenly distributed...they taste better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I loved the bulky texture of the turkey burgers with additives. I substitued the goat cheese for Feta which I had on hand which was excellent. Remember to wring out the frozen spinach thoroughly! They are fabulous and I make them all of the time now, instead of plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
My husband is not fond of ground turkey or "fake beef" as he likes to call it. He absolutely loved this burger and didn't even need to add any condiments. I made it with a Mediterranean cheese blend (feta, provolone, parmasan)and served it on an onion bun. It was very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
These were very good - but I agree with some other reviewers that the recipe needs an egg and some breadcrumbs for the burgers to stick together. I also doubled the goat cheese and used herbed goat cheese versus the plain kind. I served the burgers with a nice greek salad and my guests were VERY impressed! I'm also going to try this recipe using ground lamb meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I was pleasantly surprised by this simple yet tasty recipe. I did not want a meatloaf burger and this combination of ingredients was hearty and flavorful without being too overwhelming to the meat--the burger flavor definitely came through. I roughly doubled the amount of cheese and used an Israeli feta, which is creamier and a bit milder than traditional greek feta. I added some carmelized red onions to the top and no other condiment was needed, although my husband requested sauteed mushrooms next time. They stayed together well for broiling and the amount of time suggested was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lazar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was a yummy recipe and easy to make. It is also a good one to play around with and usually end up with good results. I agree with the other reviewers, don't be afraid to add the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Great flavor combination. I used goat cheese crumbles and increased the amount. I sauteed fresh spinach with chopped onion, minced garlic and pepper. I made them on a foreman grill. They would definitely not stay together for a grill or even a broiler pan - very fragile. Using fresh, not previously frozen, ground turkey helps. I didn't want to add egg since it's likely to taste like meatloaf. Still very good flavor. Worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States