Goat Cheese and Spinach Turkey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Really delicious. Made changes based on others suggestions. I used fresh baby spinach that I sauted with a bit of onion and red pepper, doubled amount of goat cheese, added about 1/2C seasoned bread crumbs and one egg. I didn't add salt or pepper. The cheese is salty enough and I used 5 peppercorn goat cheese I bought at the Farmer's Market. It wasn't super easy to form the patties, but I got the hang of it and was able to get 5. Put them on a cookie sheet and into the fridge for a couple of hours. Fantastic surprise of flavors. Very, very good. ***UPDATE-I have found that it is important not to over cook the burgers in order for them to stay moist. I have also made them without an egg and I prefer the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
OMG! We do love these burgers! Made first exactly as directed (ok, a little extra cheese:) topped with carmelized onions and a little mayo/dijon spread. Then made again with feta & chopped black olives, thin sliced red onion to top and a homemade cucumber/yogurt sauce. We can't get enough of these! The most consistant response "this doesn't taste like turkey"! Last night made with goat cheese and chopped sundried tomatoes (not the ones in oil), yum! I will never again attempt a to make a turkey burger taste like ground beef! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
These are really great turkey burgers! Very flavorful and moist. I doubled the recipe and used suggestions made by the other reviewers, such as using sauteed fresh spinach. For the 3 lbs. of turkey I used 1C. of breadcrumbs, 2 eggs, and about 3 ozs. of goat cheese. Half of the burgers went into the freezer for another meal and the others I broiled in the oven. My hubby and 2 teenage sons loved these so much that we had the ones from the freezer 2 nights later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
These were relly good for turkey burgers; not dry and good flavor. I changed them a little, taking advice from the others. I diced onion, and sauteed that with fresh spinach. to the turkey mixture I added just a tad of S & P, onion and garlic powders, and I doubled the goat cheese, then pan fried and topped with sauteed shrooms. Light mayo on a whole wheat bun, and they were done. My boyfriend scarfed down two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I have made this recipe twice. Froze some and they were perfect. I did make some changes like some before me have.Cooked the spinach with 1 tb chopped onion and a pinch of garlic powder till dry. I used feta cheese instead of goat cheese. Added 1/3 cup of seasoned bread crumbs, 1 tb. parmasean cheese, dash of worcestershire and a pinch of Old Bay. I baked them for 10 min @450% then put them under the broiler to brown up. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
wow. just made this recipe and it was delicious. no need to measure exact ingredients or stick precisely to the recipe.. just went with it and it turned out amazing. I also sauteed the spinach with some red onions and garlic. then I had the burger on a slice of sourdough. great easy monday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stesha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I used basil and tomato feta cheese instead of the goat cheese and it was delish! I put them in a pita pocket with some red pepper hummus. Yum. Very easy, will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
I made this exactly as directed, and although is was very good (and unique!), it lacked in a lot of flavor (compared to beef burgers).. as ground turkey seems to be notorious for. Next time, I will definitely add some grated onions, cayenne pepper, salt, and maybe a splash of Worchestershire sauce. I enjoyed the moist texture of these burgers! I ate it without the bun, and mdae sweet potoato oven-baked fries to go along with it. If I would have had time, I would've topped with grilled onions, no doubt. I had no trouble forming these into nice, thick patties, and I placed on a lightly greased baking pan, lined with foil. I put them in the oven, at 450 F for 10 minutes, and then "broiled", at 500 F.. and they were perfect. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Listen, this recipe is AMAZING if you follow the advice of everyone else who has reviewed this. Add one egg, more cheese, caramelized onions and garlic. I also mistakenly bought ground chicken-- and that was amazing also. I served it with yogurt and cucumbers as suggested! Definitely try the recipes with the suggested additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
These were very tasty. I used feta cheese, however next time I think I will use chevre -- as it is a creamier, richer tasting cheese. This was a great recipe for my husband who is on a low carb diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States