Goat Cheese and Arugula over Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This had a wonderful flavor! I highly recommend using fresh ingredients, especially the arugula as it gives it a spice that keeps it from being bland. I reduced the recipe down to 4 servings so I could use a 4 oz block of goat cheese. I sliced up some link sausage and sauteed it to go with it and had dinner ready in about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Excellent!!!! I didn't have arugula, I just sauteed fresh baby spinach with olive oil and minced garlic until it was wilted, took it off the burner, mixed in the goat cheese until it was slightly melted, then added the tomatoes and pasta. Like others, I sprinkled Parmesan on it too. It was REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McCormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
If I could give this 6 stars, I would. Simple and so good. I followed the directions except I sauteed the garlic with 1/4 cup of pine nuts. Fantastic. Thank you so much for this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This dish had such rich flavor and my husband loved it, too. I didn't have any goat cheese on hand, so I used fresh grated Parmesan instead and it still turned out good, except for the cheese melting and sticking together in clumps. But I'm guessing the goat cheese doesn't do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made this for a potluck because it was easy to make and held up well over a few hours. In my pre-run, I learned that pain tomatoes made the overall dish a little bland. I took the suggestion of sun dried tomatoes and it made a huge difference. At the party, it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This recipe has become a trusted standby since I first made it a couple years ago. Back then, I had some fresh arugula from a CSA and, never having had it before, didn't know what to do with it. This was perfect!!! Fresh ingredients are a must. I usually leave the tomatoes out all together (not a big tomato fan) and it still tastes fabulous. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Super easy and yummy. I am making again this week but with roma tomatoes as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Made it as written, except I subbed romas for the cherry tomatoes. Being a HUGE arugula and goat cheese fan, I figured I'd like it, but it was even better than expected! Be sure to use a good goat cheese, good olive oil, and ripe, fresh tomatoes.. oh.. and don't substitute the arugula if you want full flavor. It has a peppery bite that stands out in this dish.. wouldn't be the same without it. All of these ingredients play a very important roll in getting the best flavor for a recipe like this. Absolutely excellent, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsgma

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Goat cheese has a marvelous tang. I enjoyed this dish but I may have it without the cheese next time...just to make for lighter fare in summer. I diced the plum tomatoes and let them 'rest' in a bowl with one garlic clove, chopped in half and olive oil. Then after an hour I simmered everything. I added fresh basil and dropped in a bag of arugula/baby spinach toward the end. I let that wilt down, about 10 minutes and then tossed immediately with the penne. My grown daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apricot20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I had everything on hand except the goat cheese so I used parmesean cheese instead. It came out great! My husband gave it 4 stars and I gave it 5. Since I'm the cook I giving it the 5 stars I think it deserves. Thanks for sharing this simple, quick, excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States