Goat Cheese Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was so easy to make. I had rather large tomatoes so I used about 6 oz of goat cheese and about 3 tbsp of roasted red bell pepper that I roasted in the oven myself (brushed with olive oil and seasoned with just a wee bit of cracked pepper and kosher salt) Everyone in my house loved them. Next time I might add a little bit of roasted garlic to the goat cheese mixture for extra flavor but this was wonderful as is. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOHLSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
The amount of stuffing seemed quite insufficient--might have worked if I had just removed the seeds and left the membrane--will try that next time (the directions are unclear on this point). I mixed the cheese with some leftover rice to make enough, and baked it a bit instead of just browning the top, and it was delicious that way, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This recipe was so easy! I've tried this for a number of potlucks & everyone is always impressed on how 'gourmet' it looks & tastes. I topped it off with a bit of shredded asiago & it was always the first plate at the potluck to be finished. Thanks! (BTW, the recipe amount was just right with the 'fresh tomatoes', the ones sold w/ the vine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I used the Mini tomatoes and rolled them in olive oil and garlic salt. Thought this was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
These are soooo good. They make a great "fancy" fancy party appetizer, but are so simple to make. I did add chopped basil leaves and a touch of garlic salt to the cheese mixture to give a bit of extra flavor. I also used small tomatoes off the vine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
easy and tasty. a tad boring, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
These were outstanding. I prepared them ahead of time, and then drizzled the olive oil on them right before putting them in the oven. I also added salt, pepper, garlic, and fresh basil to the goat cheese mixture to give it extra flavor, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Summer 2007: This was really good and VERY easy! I did find that the stuffing was a bit "runnier" than I expected...next time I will add bread crumbs and more peppers to the mixture before stuffing the tomatoes to make it "stiffer". I probably used too much goat cheese. I added toasted pine nuts because I had some on hand and it was delicious! UPDATE 5/12/08: I made this again this weekend with vine-ripened tomatoes from the farmer's market...this time I did incorporate about 2 tablespoons of bread crumbs in with the goat cheese. We didn't have peppers on hand so I skipped those but again added toasted pine nuts. DELICIOUS!!!! The goat cheese consistency was PERFECT with the added bread crumbs. My boyfriend said it was the best meal he's ever had, we both LOVED these!!!! We used goat cheese that already had garlic and herb flavoring in it but if you have plain goat cheese you could add some yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
The idea is great but the recipe didn't quite work for me with the meaty summer tomatoes. After 7 min. bread crumbs started to burn but tomatoes weren't even heated through to the bottom. The flavor was great though (I also added basil, salt and pepper to the goat cheese mixture as others suggested) and I'll try these once again, maybe will just add bread crumbs later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riga, Riga, Latvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Simply amazing. I followed the recipe exactly as specified. The end was result was tomatoes that had a soft flesh, a creamy, flavorful center. And the best part is it took MINUTES to assemble. This one will be added to the pages of my personal book of all time bests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DASHKAYDOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States