Goat Cheese Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Good, but needs adjustments. The ratio of stuffing is not enough to fill the tomato (the recipe does not state the size of the tomato). I used a medium to large heirloom tomato. I would suggest after removing the seeds to rinse, sprinkle with salt and turn upside down to drain. I added a few tablespoons of panko bread crumbs in with the cheese. Next time I will add albacore tuna or grilled chopped chicken to up the protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
These were great! I used huge tomatoes and made this as our main course, but neither my husband nor I could finish them. I roasted my own red pepper and added some extra into the goat cheese mixture, as well as some torn basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
i modified this recipe slightly: i mashed up goat feta cheese with green onion and a bit of olive oil and stuffed the tomatoes with that. i sprinkled the bread crumbs on top and drizzled the oil and broiled them... they were delicious!! thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Simply amazing. I followed the recipe exactly as specified. The end was result was tomatoes that had a soft flesh, a creamy, flavorful center. And the best part is it took MINUTES to assemble. This one will be added to the pages of my personal book of all time bests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DASHKAYDOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
The idea is great but the recipe didn't quite work for me with the meaty summer tomatoes. After 7 min. bread crumbs started to burn but tomatoes weren't even heated through to the bottom. The flavor was great though (I also added basil, salt and pepper to the goat cheese mixture as others suggested) and I'll try these once again, maybe will just add bread crumbs later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riga, Riga, Latvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Summer 2007: This was really good and VERY easy! I did find that the stuffing was a bit "runnier" than I expected...next time I will add bread crumbs and more peppers to the mixture before stuffing the tomatoes to make it "stiffer". I probably used too much goat cheese. I added toasted pine nuts because I had some on hand and it was delicious! UPDATE 5/12/08: I made this again this weekend with vine-ripened tomatoes from the farmer's market...this time I did incorporate about 2 tablespoons of bread crumbs in with the goat cheese. We didn't have peppers on hand so I skipped those but again added toasted pine nuts. DELICIOUS!!!! The goat cheese consistency was PERFECT with the added bread crumbs. My boyfriend said it was the best meal he's ever had, we both LOVED these!!!! We used goat cheese that already had garlic and herb flavoring in it but if you have plain goat cheese you could add some yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
These were outstanding. I prepared them ahead of time, and then drizzled the olive oil on them right before putting them in the oven. I also added salt, pepper, garlic, and fresh basil to the goat cheese mixture to give it extra flavor, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
easy and tasty. a tad boring, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
These are soooo good. They make a great "fancy" fancy party appetizer, but are so simple to make. I did add chopped basil leaves and a touch of garlic salt to the cheese mixture to give a bit of extra flavor. I also used small tomatoes off the vine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I used the Mini tomatoes and rolled them in olive oil and garlic salt. Thought this was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States