Go-To Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
The sauce was incredible!! I just substituted Whole pre-seasoned(cooked Crawfish.) My friend's just flipped!! Also Garlic bread on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is my recipe. I've noticed that more often than not, you can only find crawfish tails in 12oz packages now, so I tried it with two (24oz total), and it worked out fine - and saved a bunch of money too as I found them on sale. The pic I have posted was this batch. Also note - the recipe calls for Golden Mushroom soup (not Cream of...) - the Golden has no cream in it and is very different from cream soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Excellent and a life saver! As a Louisiana raised girl I was nervous about this because of the soup in place of a roux; but needed something quick and fast. I used a frozen bag of mirepoix for the veggies and skipped the parsley since I didn't have any on hand (dried or fresh). Then, I had two extra for dinner show up that I wasn't prepared for. So I added another can of the soup and thinned it out some with some heavy whipping cream so it would feed 3 normal people and 3 teenage football players after practice. The d-linemen gave it a A+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TYREETHOMAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jennings, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This is my second time eating crawfish and was very apprehensive. The first time they tasted too 'fishy' for me so I took a friends advice and rinsed them before putting them in the skillet. Very glad that I did! Other than the fact that it could be more spicy, it was a really good dish and something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was so amazing....Quick and easy...the only change that I made was I used two cans of condensed golden mushroom soup and thinned it out with whole milk. Served over rice....I did not use frozen crawfish...I used fresh that we had left over from a crawfish boil..They tend to be more plump and fuller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I'm a Louisiana-born gal, and this is an excellent etouffee! I let my vegetables cook on low longer than 10 min, because I like them soft. Have made it with shrimp, as good crawfish are hard to come by here in MO! I am making it tonight, with only one pound of shrimp, that works too. I put on a squeeze of lemon and some Crystal hot sauce before digging in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Pretty good, relatively quick and easy to make. I had to use cream of celery instead of cream of mushroom since I was out of the latter. Still turned out pretty well. This is a pretty handy faster recipe than most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I wanted a quick, easy recipe to use with leftovers from a crawfish boil. This was great. I added chopped mushrooms from the boil as well as the crawfish. Also, I used 2 cans soup and cut down on the Tony's since the shrooms were HOT. DELISH. from New Orleans and got thumbs up from everyone at the table :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This recipes was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zuly
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this awesome recipe, Staci. I have made it a few times now, over thin spaghetti. Here in New Orleans we always have left over crawfish, after a boil. I always peel and freeze them. Then I found your recipe, Yay! This recipe has worked great for a quickie meal. I have used Cream of mushroom and Cream of Mushroom with Roasted Garlic (only because I had them in pantry) and both have been awesome. Tonight I added some Mexican Velveeta and served over Angel Hair Pasta. It’s all good, hubby loves it! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States