Go Girl Hot Szechwan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Very tasty indeed!!! I used chili paste from the Asian store, which has alot of flavor and "kick". It was just spicy enough. I replaced one of the green peppers for a red pepper, for color. Next time, and there will be a next time, I would double the sauce recipe, and add the green onion at the last minute in order to retain crispness! Thats the beauty of a recipe, you can "tweak" it to suit your own taste! Thanks for this tasty and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I did not have chili paste, but a thai chili sauce. I thought the dish was good, but needed more flavor. Also, it took a long time to prepare. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I love Szechwan, and this recipe hit the spot. It was a great candle light dinner for the husband & I. Couldn't find the chile paste, or fresh chile peppers at my local grocery. So I used chili powder. I left out the sherry. The oranges were horrible at the store, so I end up using McCormick orange peel (1/2 tablespoon) I followed everything else to a que, and it turned out great. Not watery, mildely spicy, but does take extra time, but worth it in my opinion. I served my dish with steamed rice, and a Mandarin Orange Oriental salad I made. Will be making again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
This was good, but not near as spicy as I expected. I will add some red chilies next time, as I do with my Kung Pao chicken. Also, I added more garlic, can't have too much. I would add more chopped peppers and maybe some celery next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Definitley NOT spicy! Not at all! I used a red and orange pepper because I like their taste moreso than green peppers, and I left out the sherry, but those was the only changes I made. It was more onion flavored than anything. It was basic fare, and I was kind of disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forbidden Fruit Cocktail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
This was great - like most chinese dishes the preparation is a bit long - but the result was worth it. The only thing I changed was to use 2 tablespoons of chinese garlic chili sauce. Thank you submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I love spicy food, so this was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This recipe was good, but not great. It definitely was not spicy (we used chili powder instead of chili paste, which may have been why it was milder than expected). The orange taste was pretty evident. I probably won't make this recipe again, but if I do, I will definitely look for some sort of hot Asian chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I loved this recipe! I sauteed the Chicken breasts whole in olive oil and then shredded. The only thing I would change is the chile sauce I bought was not hot at all. Really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States