Gnocchi with Sage-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I loved this (5 stars!) but hubs not as much (3 stars), but then he's not a fan of gnocchi in the first place. I am, and I thought this sage-butter sauce was perfect with it. I didn't measure seasonings exactly, just to my own taste. What I'd love to try next time is to subtley brown the butter and use fresh sage. Great dish, however, just as is, keeping mind that seasoning measurements are useful as a guide, but don't have to be strictly adhered to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was soooo good! I tripled the recipe and followed it exactly, except that I poured the sauce into a bowl with the gnocchi and tossed it because I had too much gnocchi for the pan. I've only had gnocchi with regular spaghetti sauce before and did not care for it, but I LOVED this! Great with a salad and garlic bread. Thanks for sharing! P.S. I used freshly minced garlic and I think that really adds a lot of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elliebelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HORSEZ001
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I cut the recipe in half and used 1 (16 oz) package of gnocchi. It fed my husband and I and two small portions for my toddlers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Yummy :) I used fresh sage and, so, had to guess at the quantities a little but it turned out great. I added sauteed zucchini at the end and served it as the main course. Very good. Very easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I needed a quick side dish for gnocchi one night and found this recipe. It was a big hit with my family. My husband loved it and said it reminded him of garlic cheese bread that you would find at a pizza place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sabina
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Quick & Easy, what's not to love? I cut the recipe down and used 1 (16.8 oz) package of gnocchi. I also cooked some chicken tenders in the sauce and this became an instant hit at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Except for adding a little fresh sage with the dried, I followed this recipe exactly. It was very good. Next time however I think I will try making it into a cream sauce as there is a popular gnocchi dish at a local Italian restaurant that I love that tastes very similar but it is creamy instead of buttery. Overall, very nice flavor and I love the sage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. I followed the exact instructions and the results were wonderful! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Keri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I loved this delicious recipe! The garlic, sage, parmesan, salt & black pepper make a beautiful mix of color, texture, & flavor for this butter sauce. Wouldn't change a thing. This gnocchi was by far the best I've had! Thank you SO much for sharing this recipe! Will be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This was tasty! The Parmesan cheese brings it all together. Since the gnocchis was finished a bit ahead of the rest of my meal, I drained it, tossed it in the pan with the butter, garlic, and sage (fresh...about four-five leaves, chopped), and let it sit on low heat. A few minutes before serving, I added the cheese and tossed it all again. I served it as a bed for chicken breasts cooked in a marinara sauce. This is a very pleasant way to serve gnocchi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States