Gnocchi with Sage-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
These gnocchi were gnucky. I've only eaten gnocchi at restaurants so I was eager to try this recipe. I used store-bought (Archer Farms) gnocci and was really disappointed in this dish. I only used one pack and reduced the other ingredients accordingly. I love garlic and butter (see fat content in this recipe - yikes), but the actual gnocchi were bland and dull tasting despite the garlic and butter. I would suggest adding much more sage, I could barely even taste it. Overall this was big flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Well. I'm guessing this was hit and miss in my house. While my very picky son said blah he didn't like the taste, my girls said they were fabulous and got 2nds, hubby thought they were good but too strong in flavor but did eat them. I had 2 and thought they were fine and noticed the sage being slightly strong. But since I have never made or tried gnocchi before this recipe, I'd make the gnocchi again trying some other recipes and I'd make this again, so long as I toned down the sage some. maybe to 1/2 a tsp. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Great recipe! I would not use as much sage next time...it was kind of overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Don't let the simplicity of this dish fool you, it's fabulous! I added sliced mushrooms and used 3 garlic cloves instead of just one. Perfect dish, perfectly seasoned! I will serve this as often as I have a need for something fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joseph, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lyons, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
It's potato puffs with butter and cheese. It would be hard to go wrong but this is too blah. Next time maybe some chives or parsley... something but this as it is won't be making another appearance on my table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
3 stars from me - 4 from my dinner guest. I'm going with my guest's rating because it was my personal preference (I love my pasta drowning in sauce) that makes this an average, instead of fanstatic, meal for me. My guest, however, does not enjoy overly-sauced foods, and we both agreed the ingredients and seasonings were spot-on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
we love this easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Fantastic! Would've rated 4 1/2 stars if possible only because I think with all that gnocchi, it needed more butter. The rest of the recipe was spot on. Husband and I both loved it. Thanks for posting gina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
It was good but a little salty for my taste. I would cut down the salt content next time because you cook the gnocchi with salt, and when you add the recommended salt and parmesan cheese it's salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChocolateKiss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Wonderful! Used on homemade gnocchi. Super simple, had all ingredients on hand, and made plenty for a very large batch of gnocchi (probably more than 24 oz). Preferred over red sauce and cream sauce by my whole crew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States