Gnocchi II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
Not too hard but tasted very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
Mirella: Your other reviewer must not be familiar with gnochhi or they would understand that the texture is what the cook is shooting for here. The sauce is where the real flavor comes from. Your gnocchi recipe was just like my grandmother, Italia, used to make. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Where's the egg in this recipe? I followed this recipe exactly and ended up with a big mess! They didn't hold together in the boiling water and ended up looking like porridge. What a waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
It was a good recipe. It was tougher and more time consuming than I had expected. I had a tough time with my first batch but adjusted the flour and everything worked out fine. It was my first time making gnocchi so, inexperience, I am sure, played a huge part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
This recipe was easy and tasty! I was happy to find an egg-free version of this dish. Since this was my first time making pasta, I kneaded the flour into the potato 1/4 cup at a time until the dough was not sticky and easy to work with, so I did not run into any handling or cooking problems. I also modified the recipe to include 1 tsp. of sea salt, 1 tsp. of fresh ground pepper and 3 cloves of crushed garlic (mashed in with the potato). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
The best things in life are simple. Simple from the standpoint of ingredients, not labor. They do take a while, and the kitchen is a mess when I'm done, but they are worth every second. The batter got progressively more difficult to work with as it sat, so I will make half the dough at a time, and let the potatoes cool more before I mash them. I am serving them with a tomato-cream sauce made with sausage (removed from casing) and ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
These are real italian gnocchi like my grandmother or my aunt make them. I gave the recipe to one of my friends who's half italian like me and he said it's been the best gnocchi he's ever eaten. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Koblenz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chikee
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I found this recipe better than the Gnocci I on this site. Maybe it is the lack of egg....maybe I used more flour this time around without thinking or maybe it was because I used leftover mashed potatoes. Who knows - but I know this will be the recipe I use for Gnocci in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
The more you work flour, the tougher it becomes. Thought these were great. Served with a simple heavy cream and blue cheese sauce. Went great with a London broil I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I had to add about 1 cup more flour to keep this dough from being too sticky. Keep that in mind while you are making these. I think this was because of the high humidity, as well as the potatoes being a bit moist. This turned out soooo wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States