Gnocchi II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Would be helpful to specify the size of the potatoes. Apparently the ones I used were way too big because I had to add a lot of flour, and the dough was still very sticky. I still was able to boil them, and though they were a little on the soft side, they were delicious. My boyfriend and I both ate a huge plate - served them with vodka sauce. His roomate stole the leftovers out of the fridge and said "I don't have any idea what that stuff was your girlfriend made, but man it was good!" ha ha. Will make again for sure, but with less potato. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HADHAFANG13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I've never made gnocchi before, and I've also never boiled potatoes whole (I usually peel and chop them up first). My potatoes definitely didn't cook long enough, so when I mashed them it was really tough, and they were REALLY lumpy. If you're not used to cooking potatoes whole, I'd suggest just doing it however you normally would for mashed potatoes. The gnocchi still turned out ok, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
HORRIBLE for a 1st timer, so practice makes perfect, i bout cried because nothing seemed to be going right-the potatoes werent done even though i burned myself several times trying to peel it after, then it wasn't mashing....but at the end it was fun rolling it in pieces and watching it float and my guys ate all of it without complaint
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Very easy to follow and worked very well. I found that 1 potato (about 5-7 inches long) peeled, cubed, then boiled (starting with the potatos in cold water and bring to boil)....will make enough gnocchi to fill two bowls. Also, just a tip to prevent the fresh gnocchi from sticking together in the boiling water....before dropping them in one-by-one, spray the surface of the boiling water with any type of nonstick spray. As the gnocchi passed through the surface, I didn't have any issues with sticking. I was able to scoop the gnocchi out from the surface as they rose up...and they didn't even stick to each other in the bowl. The naturally starchy surface of the gnocchi absorbed the sauce wonderfully. Whatever you do, don't rinse the gnocchi at any point during this recipe...the starch is key. Thanks again for the egg-free recipe! I never have eggs in the house for some reason. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Having tasted Mirella's goods, I have to say that they are yummy. Her gnocchis are big, full and when you fry them lightly, the tips get hard and tasty. Highly recommend more than a mouthful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This was my first time making Gnocchi, it went alright, but I would cook them longer next time as they were a bit gooey. I served them with tomato sauce and sprinkled cheese on top! Tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
There is nothing wrong with this recipe in principle. It is basic gnocchi. But, my problem was the proportions. As it does not specify the type of potato nor size, I had to guess at what type to use. Because of this, the amount of flour was variable as well. I ended up using a starchy (russet) medium sized potato (about the size of a cricket ball) and it worked out fine for the amount of flour suggested. The second concern I have is that there were no seasonings suggested. Without something, they tasted quite bland. Salt at the very minimum should have been suggested as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was a first time I have ever made these and they turned out pretty good. I added some fresh ground pepper, garlic, and seasoning salt, along with an egg to the potatoes before I added the flour. I didn't cook the first batch long enough and they were kinda doughy still, but after I cooked them longer, they tasted great. My husband said they were pretty good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Sigh. I'm so bummed. I thought somehow that I'd be able to make the recipe work, like the happy reviewers did. I think it's all about technique, which I definitely got wrong. Weight on the potatoes would be good (though I do realize this kind of recipe is a guideline because moisture is so variable.) Tonight I Googled Chef Joey Campanaro of The Little Owl's no-egg technique. I'll try it with this recipe and see if I do better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe was great! Mine came out nice and firm, although it might have beed a good idea to let it sit for a bit before boiling. . .I just added a bit of parmesan/ romano to the potatoes, but they tasted subtly nice. . . I really dint realize that they would expand, i will make the pieces smaller next time. But I love these , will definitely make them again. . :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States