Gnocchi II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Mine didn't turn out. Waste of time and money. After the fact found out that there should be egg and only a bit of flour, not nearly what this recipe calls for. Will try again with a different recipe than this one. Suggest you do the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I'm sorry to say, I didn't really care for it. Without a sauce it's inedible. I don't think I'll make this one again... but thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I added the flour handfull at a time as I mixed.. I had a hard time forming a rope. and the finda tasted like flour.. but mixed with my soup they were not too bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I have never had a recipe fail so badly. These were inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made this for dinner last night, but I changed the servings to suit the group we were feeding. It was way way to much-but boy was it good. So easy, we'll be making this again & again! I had to add about a cup more flour to make the dough less sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort White, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I’ve never made gnocchi before and I don’t have a grandma or aunt that made it for me. However, I have had delicious gnocchi in the past at restaurants and friend’s houses. I enjoyed making this (even though it was somewhat time consuming). After cooking, I served it to my boyfriend with a spicy vodka sauce on top and a little bit of mozzarella cheese on top. He LOVED it! He even checked to make sure that I was leaving the leftovers for his lunch the next day. It’s definitely a good dish to have on the back burner especially if you’re looking for a way to get rid of all of those potatoes sitting around :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twiley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Gnocchi is supposed to be bland, the flavour comes from the sauce! Feel free to season the dough, if you must, however :) The rolling with a fork was a fantastic idea! The less you handle the dough, the less flour you need (to avoid the over-floury taste). For the same reason, I suggest BAKING the potatoes instead of boiling them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch
Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe, I feel you who had trouble may not have cooked it long enough, hence the mushy's. Also, I used 1 pound potatoes to 1 cup flour. Potatoes vary in size so you can't really say a number of potatoes, you need to weigh them. I added a table spoon of Pesto to the mixture and also heavily salted the water before cooking the Gnocchi's. it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Decent, though a bit bland. I added salt, pepper, and garlic powder to make it less bland. You also need a lot less potato and a lot more flour than reported. I used 4 waxy potatoes (peeled before boiling) and put them through a ricer (just mashed leaves lumps!) and it was enough to feed 4 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Very good !! I've tried many recipes , my husbands family who are from italy ...like this one the best , very light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States