Gnocchi II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
Mirella: Your other reviewer must not be familiar with gnochhi or they would understand that the texture is what the cook is shooting for here. The sauce is where the real flavor comes from. Your gnocchi recipe was just like my grandmother, Italia, used to make. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
This recipe was easy and tasty! I was happy to find an egg-free version of this dish. Since this was my first time making pasta, I kneaded the flour into the potato 1/4 cup at a time until the dough was not sticky and easy to work with, so I did not run into any handling or cooking problems. I also modified the recipe to include 1 tsp. of sea salt, 1 tsp. of fresh ground pepper and 3 cloves of crushed garlic (mashed in with the potato). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Where's the egg in this recipe? I followed this recipe exactly and ended up with a big mess! They didn't hold together in the boiling water and ended up looking like porridge. What a waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe was great! Mine came out nice and firm, although it might have beed a good idea to let it sit for a bit before boiling. . .I just added a bit of parmesan/ romano to the potatoes, but they tasted subtly nice. . . I really dint realize that they would expand, i will make the pieces smaller next time. But I love these , will definitely make them again. . :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
The finish product is very good! Just note, the dough in the end was enough for 10-12 people. I ended up adding 2 cups of flour more to the dough. I did read the reviews prior to cooking and used small baking potatoes, but that was still too much. Maybe she meant 8 small new potatoes? Overall, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chikee
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I found this recipe better than the Gnocci I on this site. Maybe it is the lack of egg....maybe I used more flour this time around without thinking or maybe it was because I used leftover mashed potatoes. Who knows - but I know this will be the recipe I use for Gnocci in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is my Northern Italian Grandmother's family recipe - to the letter! The only thing our family does differently is to roll them in flour with our INDEX FINGER. Perhaps those that had trouble did so because of the fork (just a suggestion). Although it does take some getting used to rolling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
These are real italian gnocchi like my grandmother or my aunt make them. I gave the recipe to one of my friends who's half italian like me and he said it's been the best gnocchi he's ever eaten. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Koblenz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
The best things in life are simple. Simple from the standpoint of ingredients, not labor. They do take a while, and the kitchen is a mess when I'm done, but they are worth every second. The batter got progressively more difficult to work with as it sat, so I will make half the dough at a time, and let the potatoes cool more before I mash them. I am serving them with a tomato-cream sauce made with sausage (removed from casing) and ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
There is nothing wrong with this recipe in principle. It is basic gnocchi. But, my problem was the proportions. As it does not specify the type of potato nor size, I had to guess at what type to use. Because of this, the amount of flour was variable as well. I ended up using a starchy (russet) medium sized potato (about the size of a cricket ball) and it worked out fine for the amount of flour suggested. The second concern I have is that there were no seasonings suggested. Without something, they tasted quite bland. Salt at the very minimum should have been suggested as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States