Gnocchi II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
need to add more flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Mine fell apart also when boiling. I HIGHLY suggest you use an egg or find another recipe. I am very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is my Northern Italian Grandmother's family recipe - to the letter! The only thing our family does differently is to roll them in flour with our INDEX FINGER. Perhaps those that had trouble did so because of the fork (just a suggestion). Although it does take some getting used to rolling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This recipe is a great starting point! Be sure to keep adding the flour and knead 1 egg in to keep it all together. Also, let the gnocchi boil for about 5-7 minutes AFTER it floats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This tasted exactly like my grandma used to make! The only thing I adjusted was I added two crushed cloves of garlic to the dough. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Renovo, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Muncy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
The finish product is very good! Just note, the dough in the end was enough for 10-12 people. I ended up adding 2 cups of flour more to the dough. I did read the reviews prior to cooking and used small baking potatoes, but that was still too much. Maybe she meant 8 small new potatoes? Overall, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I had to add about 1 cup more flour to keep this dough from being too sticky. Keep that in mind while you are making these. I think this was because of the high humidity, as well as the potatoes being a bit moist. This turned out soooo wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
The more you work flour, the tougher it becomes. Thought these were great. Served with a simple heavy cream and blue cheese sauce. Went great with a London broil I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Chikee
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I found this recipe better than the Gnocci I on this site. Maybe it is the lack of egg....maybe I used more flour this time around without thinking or maybe it was because I used leftover mashed potatoes. Who knows - but I know this will be the recipe I use for Gnocci in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
These are real italian gnocchi like my grandmother or my aunt make them. I gave the recipe to one of my friends who's half italian like me and he said it's been the best gnocchi he's ever eaten. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Koblenz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States