Gnocchi II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is a very good recipe! I had to use a lot more flour, but I just eyed it. As I am a beginning cook, I had a bit of hesitance making this meal, but, it turned out great! I suggest adding spices to the gnocchi mix to give them a little kick and also cutting them smaller so that it's not like you're stuffing your face, it should be light! :) Mozzarella cheese please :) I cooked mine with a tomato sauce with olives. wonderful vegetarian meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan cooks!
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
What a tasty, easy dish! Especially when you're broke and all you have left in the fridge is a sack of potatoes. TIPS! Don't over-cook the spuds! I read some other recipes for gnocchi before settling on this one, and one reviewer made that suggestion that saved my dumplings. I used 6 medium/small red potatoes and 1 1/2 Cups flour (will use 2 cups next time). These are even good the next day! Love love love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I love this recipe! To keep from ending up with a big blob of mush don't put the gnocchi in a bowl before cooking, and drop them into the water one at a time. It makes the cooking process take a little longer, but is so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Absolutely delicious! After reading the reviews I used 6 red potatoes and 2 cups flour. It was a perfect dough. I made them for my boyfriend for his birthday and they melted in our mouths. These are a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Took a little while to do, but sooooo worth it!! My boyfriend couldn't stop eating them, and then when they were gone, he asked when i was making them again! Will def make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
After reboiling, these completely fell apart and I was left with potato mush. I may try this again, but I don't know for sure. It was quite discouraging, might try finding a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. Gnocci is one of my stand-bys at Italian restaurants and I'm excited to find a recipe to make at home. The texture of the recipe is a little bit different than what you'd get in a restaurant, but the taste is great. They are a little 'fuzzy' around the edges and don't look too appetizing....Cover them with sauce and you are good to go! I would advise other cooks to make sure that the potatoes are mashed until completely smooth (no lumps whatsoever!!)The smoother, the better...I like to make a big batch of this recipe and freeze whatever I don't use immediately. Freezing the uncooked gnocci is super-convenient. If I don't have much time to cook, I can just throw several into a pot of boiling water and heat up some sauce. A very quick and easy meal on the go. Though making the recipe is initially time-consuming, having them on-hand in the freezer is worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was my first time making gnocchi, and it seemed as though everything was going well until I drained out the boiling water and half of it went to mush. I could also could taste too much flour. I have no idea what I did wrong! In need of some advice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
easy, fast to make, odd but very good! I'd recommend boiling the potatoes a little longer than 15 minutes, otherwise everything turned out well! I added fresh rosemary to the water which had a nice flavor. my picky 15 month old enjoyed them! major plus hahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This recipe has a good taste to it, but they fall apart while boiling. The second time I made it I added two eggs as a binder and they came out with a very nice texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States