Gnocchi II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Mine didn't turn out. Waste of time and money. After the fact found out that there should be egg and only a bit of flour, not nearly what this recipe calls for. Will try again with a different recipe than this one. Suggest you do the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I'm sorry to say, I didn't really care for it. Without a sauce it's inedible. I don't think I'll make this one again... but thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I added the flour handfull at a time as I mixed.. I had a hard time forming a rope. and the finda tasted like flour.. but mixed with my soup they were not too bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I have never had a recipe fail so badly. These were inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made this for dinner last night, but I changed the servings to suit the group we were feeding. It was way way to much-but boy was it good. So easy, we'll be making this again & again! I had to add about a cup more flour to make the dough less sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort White, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I’ve never made gnocchi before and I don’t have a grandma or aunt that made it for me. However, I have had delicious gnocchi in the past at restaurants and friend’s houses. I enjoyed making this (even though it was somewhat time consuming). After cooking, I served it to my boyfriend with a spicy vodka sauce on top and a little bit of mozzarella cheese on top. He LOVED it! He even checked to make sure that I was leaving the leftovers for his lunch the next day. It’s definitely a good dish to have on the back burner especially if you’re looking for a way to get rid of all of those potatoes sitting around :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twiley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Gnocchi is supposed to be bland, the flavour comes from the sauce! Feel free to season the dough, if you must, however :) The rolling with a fork was a fantastic idea! The less you handle the dough, the less flour you need (to avoid the over-floury taste). For the same reason, I suggest BAKING the potatoes instead of boiling them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch
Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe, I feel you who had trouble may not have cooked it long enough, hence the mushy's. Also, I used 1 pound potatoes to 1 cup flour. Potatoes vary in size so you can't really say a number of potatoes, you need to weigh them. I added a table spoon of Pesto to the mixture and also heavily salted the water before cooking the Gnocchi's. it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Decent, though a bit bland. I added salt, pepper, and garlic powder to make it less bland. You also need a lot less potato and a lot more flour than reported. I used 4 waxy potatoes (peeled before boiling) and put them through a ricer (just mashed leaves lumps!) and it was enough to feed 4 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Very good !! I've tried many recipes , my husbands family who are from italy ...like this one the best , very light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States