Gnocchi II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
A good base. Changes below. 1) Bake the potatoes, then mash them through a screen into a bowl. 2) Add butter 3) Add finely chopped green onions, salt, pepper, and an egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
So sorry...no photo because we ate all of the gnochi. I thought I might suggest the gnochi maker check the flour being used. Some flour is too light (cake flour) and some is too heavy (unbleached whole wheat)unless the cook adjusts the amount of those types of flour, more or less as needed for the consistency desired. I lived in Mexico and the flour there was much more dense than in the USA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I'm no gnocchi genius for sure, but this recipe as it's written seems to have too much flour per potato mixture. It says to use 1 cup mashed potatoes with 2 cups flour, at least I think that's what it says which tastes too doughy or floury for me. If you add equal parts potato it improves ?? I think ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktr2567

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe did not work for me, starting with the "8 potatoes"--considering that potatoes come in all different sizes. Consequently, the amount of flour and butter in the recipe is inaccurate. Having never made gnocchi before, I wasn't sure what the texture of the dough should be. When making the dumplings it seemed fine but collapsed in the boiling water. I ended up with the porridge that another reviewer described with was unappetizing and inedible. I'll find a recipe that gives the number of pounds of potatoes and hopefully the flour and butter will be proportionately correct. I may try making gnocchi again (it'a a lot of work) but would not follow this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wishek, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
came out great! I used one lb of potatoes, 2 tbls of butter and one cup of flour and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I added dried parsly for color and this is quite nice. I riced the just cooked potatos and used selmalina flour. I let it rest for about 30 minutes before cooking it. I made a half recipe and it fed three with some left over. I will make this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I have mixed feelings toward this recipe,but only good mixed feelings.One reviewer liked this with no egg in it.But another reviewer asked where is the egg?I have never made gnocchi before but it appears after reading several recipes that making gnocchi is relatively easy.But I will say this,I am not Italian but I love Italian food and hope to learn more Italian dishes than just the typical spaghetti and such.I am starting with gnocchi.My question is this:what exactly is gnocchi?is it mashed potatoes made into small nuggets boiled and covered with sauce,or is it riccota cheese done the same way?What is authentic gnocchi?I do like the potato version and will make that.But I also want to say,egg is used as a binder in a lot of meats and dishes.Eggs help to bind ingredients together so it won't become like porridge like a reviewer said.So I really don't understand the concept of this dish without egg in it to act as a binder to hold the potatoes together. besides that,I think this will be very good when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This evening marked my first attempt at making gnocchi. I picked this recipe because of its simplicity and because other reviewers said it was authentic. I made these changes: I used only 4 potatoes instead of 8 and started with 1 cup of flour, adding more until I had a soft, pliable dough. It was easy to roll out on a well floured counter top and they cooked and floated to the top just fine. I used them in a cream soup with pork sausage and vegetables. While the gnocchis were very soft they were not pasty and tasted good. Now, I don't claim to know the history of gnocchi but I will venture to guess that it started out as a "peasant" dish, that is, easy to make and hearty. While we have ingredients measured out for us in this recipe, gnocchi was never meant to be rocket science! :) Strictly adhering to the recipe rather than using your eyes and hands to see and feel the dough will probably result in less than satisfactory gnocchi. This recipe was a good starting point for a beginner like me. I will definitely be making it again, trying to perfect it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARICAM58

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
These were yummy! I had some glitches with the cooking, though. I set the serving size to 1 which meant I used 2 potatoes, but the 15 minutes of boiling wasn't enough to make them mashable. I didn't want to take the time to go back and boil more water, so I nuked the potatoes for 45 seconds. This made them a weird consistency and the mashed potatoes still had chunks in them. Then I ended up using too much flour and had to add LOTS of extra butter. But even with the chunks of potato in them, the cooked dumplings still tasted yummiful. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Very tasty. My husband love it. I made a cheese sause with extra sharp white cheddar and fennel seeds and baked it like mac and cheese. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States