Gnocchi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Next time I will add a little salt. Tried to use mashed potatoes that already had sour cream and cream cheese added, and I think it made the dough a little sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Worcester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
My mashed potatoes were pretty dry, I added flour 1:1 and they turned out well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Messy but the family liked it ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I am rating this 5 stars as this is an awesome base foundation for making potato gnocchi. Personally I DID NOT follow the recipe. We have 5 kids so I used 6 potatoes, 2 eggs and 2 cups all purpose flour in my sunbeam planetary mixer with the dough hook. Be sure to add the flour in 1/4 cup at a time and test with your fingers, if it's too sticky put in another 1/4 cup of flour until dough doesn't stick to side of bowl. The potatoes I used were around the medium-to-large size. Herbs and seasoning add to your potatoes once mashed. Freezer to cool potatoes down if in a hurry. They turned out great and I will def be using this as a base recipe, so many awesome ingredients that can be added to the potato mix once mashed, they sky is the limit. So much quicker than making piroshki and vareniki for sure LOL! (I live in calgary, recipe for high altitude = fine!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I used exactly 2 cups mashed potato (2 potatoes) 1 cup of flour and 1 egg. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Very dense and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linnygeb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I'm going to give this two stars because it has potential and is a good starting point. I've never made gnocchi before so I just followed this recipe using the reviewer's tip to add flour 1/4c at a time until the dough is the right consistency. It was quick and easy and the blandest thing I have ever put in my mouth. Even my sauce couldn't save it. I made again the next night and added salt, pepper and garlic powder which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Simple ingredients but technique will take some practice. I used a ricer with 2 leftover boiled potatoes. I think they may have had too much moisture resulting in gnocchi that was a bit heavy. I boiled until they floated and then pan fried in butter and parsley and served with parmesan cheese. Some of the portions I let brown longer and I really liked those ones the best. I served the kids the gnocchi with a jar of rose sauce. For my first time making gnocchi, it was pretty successful and I'd be willing to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Did not taste very good. Maybe it was just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States