Gnocchi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I have a tip for anyone who thinks the recipe takes too long - after I knead the dough, I put it in an icing bag, squeeze it straight into the boiling water, cutting it into 1-inch pieces as I squeeze. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This is one of my boyfriend's favorites. I make the gnocchi, boil them, and then sautee them with olive oil and pesto. I serve it in a single communal dish with plenty of crusty bread for soaking up the extra herbed oil. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
Very good basic gnocchi recipe, I had a little trouble kneading the dough, added some salt and pepper when kneading, the results were AWESOME, served with Cuattro Fromaggi Sauce (Four Cheese sauce) and it was a hit at my dinner party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2000
Great recipe, a little time consuming. Best if done with a group to help roll and cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
lots of work but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Awesome recipe and very easy!!! As far as recipes go, simple ingredients. Made in no time at all. added to a thin white sauce with lots of parmesian cheese to make it a cream soup. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
My Italian neighbor used to make gnocchi for my family and I once a month. Since she moved away I've been pining for a recipe similar to hers. This is it! My entire family loves it when I make this. I was surprised at how easy this was to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Add a little salt and butter for some extra flavour. Great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
This is some pretty good stuff! It took a loooong time to roll it out and cut it into pieces. Some advice I'd say is.. the mashed potatoes, let them cook as much as you would for regular mashed potatoes! It said they should still be firm but they are easier to mash and knead with the flour if they are not so firm. I made a butter sauce to go along with them by melting some butter and adding salt to it and then you can pour it over. Also, for lack of anything better, to add flavor you can dip them in spaghetti sauce as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
Mom says it might be the best gnocchi she ever had. They do turn out exactly like you want gnocchi to be: chewy and dense. Yum. When I made them, the dough was very stretchy and a little sticky, but I thought a test piece seemed dense enough and I didn't want to add any more flour... rolling out the 'worms' was almost impossible but it was easy enough just to cut a lump of it into strips, and then into little pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States