Gnocchi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised -- excellent results, and I'd never eaten gnocchi before or hardly even heard of it. I added nutmeg and a touch of garlic and that was inspired. I heartily recommend this with any pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Mitchell

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I boiled 2 potatoes whole, skin and all and peeled after cooking. I didn't need both potatoes. I used 1 cup of mashed potatoes, 1 cup flour and 1 egg. I didn't have any problems with the gnocchi falling apart or not rising. Tastes like a pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yachats, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Also great in italian soups and stews. My husband and daughter love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I followed the recipe and ended-up with dense, hard dough balls. I could also taste the flour. I remember the gnocchi of my youth (made by my Italian mom) being light, pillowy, and only slightly chewy. It looks like others had great success with this recipe, though, so perhaps I did something wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Really liked this as a base. Like many other people mentioned, I would recommend cutting down that flour. I used 2 potatoes, and they were big... so I just added more of the potato to my mixture. Also, make sure to mash those taters up good! I used a potato masher, but should have mashed it more. I ended up with chunks of potato in my dough. Will definitely make this again. I think next time I will make sure to mash up the potatoes more and use 1-1.5 cups of flour per cup of mashed potato. I'm also going to add some spices and maybe parmesan into the dough next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These came out perfectly! I added a couple tablespoons of rosemary to add a little bit of flavor to the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This is the best gnocchi recipe I've tried. Its super easy and it doesn't make a ton of gnocchi, so I'm not sitting around for an hour making gnocchi. I did add a little basil and season salt so that it wouldn't be so bland. Overall it's the best recipe, simple and easy. I plan on using it with turkey sausage and tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
YUM. These were the best Gnocchi's I've ever had. I boiled my potatoes for a good 25+ mins and used only 1-3/4 cups flour with 4 potatoes & 2 eggs; I tend to eyeball stuff and it ended coming out PERFECT. So delicious- thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Perfect! I used this in chicken and dumplings. What I did was throw (ok, gently place lol) some chicken breasts (2 large or 3 small) into a crock pot along with 2 cans cream of chicken soup, 1 can chicken broth, a cup of diced onion, 2 stalks chopped celery, a cup of chopped carrots, and a sprinkle of thyme; cook that on High for 4 hours; take the chicken breast out and shred into bite-sized pieces; place the chicken back in the crock pot with the gnocchi and cook on High for another hour. An easy and healthy meal that is especially nice on a cold winter's day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
tried it with marinara. amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States