Gnocchi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
The recipe was fine, but the gnocchi were slightly rubbery, too heavy, and flavorless. There's an amazing ricotta gnocchi recipe on this sight that gives light, flavorful gnocchi and I will continue to use that recipe because this one isn't nearly as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Well, wasn't this simple! I could not find gnocchi in ANY of our local grocers, I was delighted to find this simple recipe and an especially good way to use my Thanksgiving leftover mashed potatoes! Use the simple rule I taught my boys when learning to cook. Follow the recipe, and then use your instincts! Make the dough like you would want to eat it. Not too dry, not too moist......make the gnocchi pieces themselves small enough to cook quickly & thoroughly. If they turn out poorly, try again! Dough is one of those things that just takes practice. Says the girl who cannot make a decent pie crust to save her life.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Simple, tasty, and awesome. Cant believe I actually made this from scratch! I dont think I boiled the potatoes long enough, or I didnt add enough flour, because the end result was more potato than anything else. I will keep trying this though, as I am not very good with baking or recipes that call for flour. I served this with some marinara sauce and it was great! In the future I will try to add more ingredients, or experiment with a different sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My daughter keeps calling these dumplings. LOL. I think everyone enjoyed it though. My husband and Lindsay ate these with butter and Parmesan cheese. Josceline and I ate it with butter, "Pesto," and Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
My whole family raved about this. It's definitely a keeper. However I used 1 and a half cups of flour like others recommended. I also doubled the recipe. One think I might add next time is some seasoning, or maybe cheese to the dough, since it was pretty plain without it. But overall, excellent dish. I served it with meat sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was very easy. Mine turned out well, and it was the first time I've ever tried making gnocchi. I microwaved the potatoes instead of boiling, and added salt to the mixture. Also, I started adding flour a cup at a time and kneaded until the dough felt firm enough to roll out. I didn't add the full two cups, probably more like a cup and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
First time I've ever tried or even heard of this. Hubby is out of state working, and on the atkins diet. Potatoes are a treat for me! I halved the recipe and got to thinking? Why not add something to the boiling water? Like hot sauce? Wunnerful! Next batch? Added something that I call a mixed whatever. Garlic, onion, rosemary, thyme.....whatever. Keep it in a "whatever jar". As for the sauce? Lordy! The ideas are endless! Did mine with butter, parm cheese, pepper, thai sweet red chili sauce and ketchup recipe from this site. Not a clue what it reheats like, but but will find out tomorrow! Also put leftover dough in the freezer. Don't think it will be a problem, and hubby might just have to try just ONE! Thanks for the fun recipe! Can't wait to play with it more! Almost forgot. Had real potatoes from a real garden. They did take a bit longer to cook, but didn't have to add all the flour. If you're a gardener? This is something to keep in mind. K...Gotta go eat more of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
awesome basic recipe... read others comments and changed it up a bit... made enough dough for another meal... it's a keeper... love the site...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I made this recipe tonight and to be honest, I was a little intimidated by it. In the end, my gnocchi turned out better than the stuff they have at Olive Garden, but still nowhere near my expectations. My gnocchi had a strange texture, and I couldn't finish my portion. I think this recipe takes a little skill to really pull off, and that was just something I didn't expect going into this. The gnocchi had good flavor, but I probably wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I don't know if I did something wrong, but I'm not quite sure how this got 4.5 stars... It was too rough and the texture was not good. I've had different types of gnocchi before and they're all much more tender than how mine turned out using this recipe. I even used my favorite sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States