Gnocchi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was very easy. Mine turned out well, and it was the first time I've ever tried making gnocchi. I microwaved the potatoes instead of boiling, and added salt to the mixture. Also, I started adding flour a cup at a time and kneaded until the dough felt firm enough to roll out. I didn't add the full two cups, probably more like a cup and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
First time I've ever tried or even heard of this. Hubby is out of state working, and on the atkins diet. Potatoes are a treat for me! I halved the recipe and got to thinking? Why not add something to the boiling water? Like hot sauce? Wunnerful! Next batch? Added something that I call a mixed whatever. Garlic, onion, rosemary, thyme.....whatever. Keep it in a "whatever jar". As for the sauce? Lordy! The ideas are endless! Did mine with butter, parm cheese, pepper, thai sweet red chili sauce and ketchup recipe from this site. Not a clue what it reheats like, but but will find out tomorrow! Also put leftover dough in the freezer. Don't think it will be a problem, and hubby might just have to try just ONE! Thanks for the fun recipe! Can't wait to play with it more! Almost forgot. Had real potatoes from a real garden. They did take a bit longer to cook, but didn't have to add all the flour. If you're a gardener? This is something to keep in mind. K...Gotta go eat more of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
awesome basic recipe... read others comments and changed it up a bit... made enough dough for another meal... it's a keeper... love the site...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I made this recipe tonight and to be honest, I was a little intimidated by it. In the end, my gnocchi turned out better than the stuff they have at Olive Garden, but still nowhere near my expectations. My gnocchi had a strange texture, and I couldn't finish my portion. I think this recipe takes a little skill to really pull off, and that was just something I didn't expect going into this. The gnocchi had good flavor, but I probably wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I don't know if I did something wrong, but I'm not quite sure how this got 4.5 stars... It was too rough and the texture was not good. I've had different types of gnocchi before and they're all much more tender than how mine turned out using this recipe. I even used my favorite sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I love, love, LOVE this easy simple recipe. I got ready thinking it was going to take forever and it didn't seem to take any time at all! My hubs was super impressed. AND I paired it with the tomato vodka cream sauce from this site...My hubs said this was the best thing I ever made him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Worked really well for me, thank you! I did use just under 2 cups of flour for one cup of mashed potato and seasoned the mashed potato as I usually would with butter, salt, pepper. Size was an issue, (my fault!), as the little dumplings expanded much more than I anticipated when they were boiled and then cooked in sauce. Need to make the "snakes" much thinner than I did. Will definitely make these again and get the size perfected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This recipe is very imprecise. I've had to play around with the ratios of the ingredients. Be sure to cook the potatoes with the skins on! Very important!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Yummy! I still haven't figured out how to get this to be easier to mix, but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I used 1kg of potatoes and 2 eggs. Turned out like gnocchi! :) Just make sure the "sausages" which you roll out are nice and thin. Mine we a bit thick, and the gnocchi too ages to boil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kangaroo495

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

Displaying results 51-60 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States