Gnocchi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Tried this recipe twice. The first time I used 1 c. smashed potatoes and 1.5 c flour and one egg. Had to add more egg (a little at a time)until I got it to the right consistency and the gnocchi were a little heavy probably because of all the working of the dough. Second time I used 1 c. potatoes, 1 c. flour and one egg and then added enough additional flour for it to bind. That worked better. Added salt to both recipes for flavor. Drop gnocchi into water, a few at at time so they don't stick together. This was great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Easy enough - these came out light and fluffy. I doubled the recipe - big mistake. Two potatoes would have been plenty my husband and 3 kids. I boiled the potatoes and beat them in my kitchenaid until I got the right consistency - and 'right' was a guess since I've never made gnocchi before. I served with a tomato basil sauce the first night, and an alfredo & sausage sauce the second - both were good. I will make this again - but next time I will try to jazz up the flavor of the gnocchi just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jan
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Easy and tastes great with the Hungarian Sliced Steak recipe I made it with. I baked the potatoes(3 medium reds). Added about 1-1/4 C flour and it kneaded nicely. Rolled in long snakes easily too. Did put in fridge on pan covered with wax paper until ready to cook. Once boiled, I heated up some butter to brown, added parsley and stirred in the gnocchi. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I substituted the flour for whole wheat and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatmaliscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This recipe is just like my Nonna's recipe and the only thing i changed is I added flour gradually so not to overdo it. Also we roll the small pieces over the small part of a cheese grater to get the texture and it seems to go quicker than the fork method. We serve with homemade sugo (italian tomato sauce) and parmesan cheese YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very good. Easy enough to make. Good directions. Yes, they are very filling but I doubled the recipe and still didn't have enough to feed my hungry family. We did have these as the main dish. Next time I will quadruple the recipe and hope I can satisfy my hungry mouths. Of course that just means that they were very good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian M Boccuzzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Fantastic recipe! Made plenty of gnocchi for our chicken noodle soup with no chicken, didn't have any on hand so substituted with gnocchi, just needed a filler and it did the job! They make great snacks too (though a little bland, with some onion, carrots, and maybe something else mixed in it may be more palatable, but still good on their own too, nice and chewy, had a bit of flavor too due to butter), and stuff them with a filling for great dumplings. I did not have a problem with mealy flour or dry potatoes because I used instant mashed potatoes (2 cups of it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wolfeh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wilder, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I used a ricer for the potatoes. Added egg first, then flour based on a 2:1 ratio of potato to flour (based on weight), a little at a time. (Usually end up not using all the flour.) I'm still trying to learn the special rolling technique to get the "perfect sauce catching shape." My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Instead of boiling the potatoes which adds water, try putting the whole potatoes with jacket on inside your microwave. Overcook them,cool them ,cut in half and scoop out flesh. No peeling cutting or draining and drying the flesh of the extra water they picked up from being in water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Jacobs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Better than store-bought gnocchi. I followed what another reviewer suggested: added more flour until the dough is dry to touch but doesn't crumble. I also used whole wheat flour and it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States