Gnocchi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very good. Easy enough to make. Good directions. Yes, they are very filling but I doubled the recipe and still didn't have enough to feed my hungry family. We did have these as the main dish. Next time I will quadruple the recipe and hope I can satisfy my hungry mouths. Of course that just means that they were very good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian M Boccuzzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Fantastic recipe! Made plenty of gnocchi for our chicken noodle soup with no chicken, didn't have any on hand so substituted with gnocchi, just needed a filler and it did the job! They make great snacks too (though a little bland, with some onion, carrots, and maybe something else mixed in it may be more palatable, but still good on their own too, nice and chewy, had a bit of flavor too due to butter), and stuff them with a filling for great dumplings. I did not have a problem with mealy flour or dry potatoes because I used instant mashed potatoes (2 cups of it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wolfeh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wilder, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I used a ricer for the potatoes. Added egg first, then flour based on a 2:1 ratio of potato to flour (based on weight), a little at a time. (Usually end up not using all the flour.) I'm still trying to learn the special rolling technique to get the "perfect sauce catching shape." My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Instead of boiling the potatoes which adds water, try putting the whole potatoes with jacket on inside your microwave. Overcook them,cool them ,cut in half and scoop out flesh. No peeling cutting or draining and drying the flesh of the extra water they picked up from being in water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Better than store-bought gnocchi. I followed what another reviewer suggested: added more flour until the dough is dry to touch but doesn't crumble. I also used whole wheat flour and it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Hints: Need floury not waxy potatoes. I suggest only Yukon Gold or blue/purple potatoes. Cut back on flour by about .5 cup. Don't over mix! As with any flour recipe, if you over-knead, you create toughness in the final product. Make certain your potatoes are well mashed. A ricer is perfect for this. And finally, to make th pretty lines and to have a perfect gnocchi, you need to master the trick of rolling them down a fork or gnochi board. You need to put the cut side down on the top of the fork, squish in gently with your thumb to create a hollow (which you will now ignore) and then roll it gently down the fork tines to the tip. There is NOTHING on Youtube to show you how this is done properly! Don't over boil and my final hint, cook your sauce on the stove top and add gnocchi directly to it before serving. DON'T put them in a bowel and ladle sauce over. Try it both ways and see if you can tell the difference. Sounds complicated but with a tiny bit of practice and care, you will be very happy with the final result! From a fussy cook, happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised -- excellent results, and I'd never eaten gnocchi before or hardly even heard of it. I added nutmeg and a touch of garlic and that was inspired. I heartily recommend this with any pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Mitchell

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I boiled 2 potatoes whole, skin and all and peeled after cooking. I didn't need both potatoes. I used 1 cup of mashed potatoes, 1 cup flour and 1 egg. I didn't have any problems with the gnocchi falling apart or not rising. Tastes like a pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yachats, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Also great in italian soups and stews. My husband and daughter love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I followed the recipe and ended-up with dense, hard dough balls. I could also taste the flour. I remember the gnocchi of my youth (made by my Italian mom) being light, pillowy, and only slightly chewy. It looks like others had great success with this recipe, though, so perhaps I did something wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States