Gnocchi I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I can't believe it was so easy. Now I have another use for potatoes. I did follow one member's advice to add just enough flour until the dough is no longer sticky, but still pliable. I did a test batch (7 pieces), which was a good idea. My toddler even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Made this today for my hubby and his friend and it was my first time. My hubby stated that they reminded him of how his grandmother's used to taste and thanked me multiple times. The only amendment I made was I used leftover mashed potatoes instead of just plain potatoes, but it was wonderful. Thanks for the recipe :-) definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Awesome!! I have tried homemade gnocchi twice before, but this is by far the best (and easiest) recipe I've used. Mine came out nice & firm which I LOVED (some recipes can be a little soft for my taste). I think my husband and daughter would have liked them a little softer, but that's probably an easy adjustment if you wish. Will definitely make again and again. YUM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This is a great recipe. We put the cooked potatoes through a potato ricer to mash them so there are no lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Tasty although my first batch wasn't cooked long enough. Second batch worked out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Bricker Schoor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I agree with "What's for dinner, mom?" in her review. There needs to be more help with the dough in what the end product should be texture wise and so on. My dough came out a bit dry. It rolled into ropes with some effort. Granted, this is the first time I've tried this type of a recipe. Followed it to the "T". I don't have a real good handle on what good gnocchi should taste like. Served with a jar of spaghetti sauce that was on-hand and grated mozzarella. I will definitely attempt this recipe again; adding some spices to make it savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
There is a large variable in this recipe that needs to be realized. Potatoes vary in size, water content varies and even the flour absorbs moisture differently depending on the weather. I am rating 3 stars because there is not much offered as to the dough texture you should try to achieve. There should be some indication that you have a dough that is appropriate to continue with. The dough should give under light pressure. It will feel somewhat firm. If the dough is the correct consistency it will hold together if you roll it into a 1/2 inch rope. It wont stick to the table or your hands. If it does add more flour. If too crumbly add a little water and try again. The flavor is good but needs seasoning - salt, pepper- some Parmesan cheese perhaps. I also find that baking the potatoes lessens the moisture and the need for excessive flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Tried this recipe twice. The first time I used 1 c. smashed potatoes and 1.5 c flour and one egg. Had to add more egg (a little at a time)until I got it to the right consistency and the gnocchi were a little heavy probably because of all the working of the dough. Second time I used 1 c. potatoes, 1 c. flour and one egg and then added enough additional flour for it to bind. That worked better. Added salt to both recipes for flavor. Drop gnocchi into water, a few at at time so they don't stick together. This was great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Easy enough - these came out light and fluffy. I doubled the recipe - big mistake. Two potatoes would have been plenty my husband and 3 kids. I boiled the potatoes and beat them in my kitchenaid until I got the right consistency - and 'right' was a guess since I've never made gnocchi before. I served with a tomato basil sauce the first night, and an alfredo & sausage sauce the second - both were good. I will make this again - but next time I will try to jazz up the flavor of the gnocchi just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jan
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Easy and tastes great with the Hungarian Sliced Steak recipe I made it with. I baked the potatoes(3 medium reds). Added about 1-1/4 C flour and it kneaded nicely. Rolled in long snakes easily too. Did put in fridge on pan covered with wax paper until ready to cook. Once boiled, I heated up some butter to brown, added parsley and stirred in the gnocchi. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gnocchi I

See how easy it is to make amazing potato gnocchi.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States