Gnocchi Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This is pretty basic - let's face it, it's just noodles, sauce, and cheese. Your average college student can do this. However, classics are classics for a reason, and this was tasty and easy. No complaints from me or my fiancee. Changes I made: I added 2 big cloves of crushed garlic to the sausage while it was cooking, some dried basil to the sauce, used a six-cheese sauce, used more sauce than called for (1 big jar), added grated fresh parmesan to the mozzarella on top, and used half gnocchi and half cheese tortellini. A quick, tasty, throw-together meal - I won't keep the recipe on hand because come on, you make this once, you have it memorized. But I'll remember it for busy weeknight dinners in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I have to laugh at this "recipe". Okay. 2 stars, one to the submitter, and one to the staff... for putting it out there as a "recipe" of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was a nice change of pace. I made a "garlic bread topping" By toasting some bread, and throwing it in the food proccessor with little bit of melted butter, garlic, parmesan chese, and parsley. Threw it under the broiler at the end, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I misread the recipe & only used 8 oz. gnocchi, but still added almost double the sauce. We just like our baked pasta saucy. I used a Italian 4 cheese blend & 1 jar each Classico Roasted Garlic & Spicy Red Pepper. It gave it just the slightest bite, but wasn't too hot for my 10 year old. This recipe was so simple, but really, really good. We all ate until we were stuffed, so this is definately going into rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Soooo easy. I'm Italian and this is good. Only substitutions I made was I added 5 cloves minced garlic to the sausage as it was browning. I used 2 cups mozzarella instead of 1 1/2 and also I used my own homemade marinara sauce. This would be a great dish for company. Your whole family should enjoy this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This was pretty good, and very quick and easy! I used Trader Joe's gnocchi, and was going to use their pasta sauce also, but I couldn't get the darn jar open! Lol! And no one was here to help me, so I made my own sauce using a 14 oz. can of Italian tomatoes and an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce. It worked great. I used 1/2 lb. sausage. I also added some fresh garlic, Italian Seasonings, and parm cheese to it. I used Tillamook's Tuscan Blend shredded cheese, just on top. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I think whoever makes this better really enjoy gnocchi, because it is very "gummy", and chewy mixed in with all the cheese.. after a few bites, everyone became very full, and the texture was unpleasent, we were picking out and eating the sausage only and leaving the cheese and gnocchi. I think gnocchi only needs a simple sauce and a light spinkle of parm. However my 13 month old really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Didn't have any italian sausage or spaghetti sauce. Did saute a package of Geneoa salami, can of diced tomatoes with roasted garlic, handful of fresh oregano, basil and margoram, big diced onion fresh garlic and shallots. With the mozarella and slivered parmesan to top this made a scrumptious skillet dish. So good with many wonderful textures and melting flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
We loved this! I used frozen gnocchi and doubled the amount of sauce and cheese. My husband could not get enough of this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Good & easy. Cheesy. Mmmm. Nice with tempeh instead of sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States