Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Only my husband is gluten free, but the rest of the family loved this cake. It rose like a gluten cake does. It tasted great. A little spongy, but still soft. It's a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This cake was good the first day but great the second and third. It was initially a little gritty (I'm sure because of the rice flour) but had great vanilla flavor and was fluffier than any wheat flour cake I've ever baked. After sitting out on the counter overnight the texture was much better and the cake was just delicious. I will absolutely make this again and try soaking the rice flour as many people suggested. I don't know if it had that much effect on the end result (based on the fact that some people are saying it was inedible) but I used original almond milk and madagascar bourbon vanilla and beat the egg mixture for about 6-8 minutes and the whole batter for another 6-8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Love this recipe for a GF cake base. I read thru reviews and followed some advice of other viewers. 1) added 1/2 cup may and 1/2 cup sour cream instead of 2/3 cup of mayo, 2) decreased to just 3 eggs, 3) used 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup splenda, 4)added strawberry cream jello pudding to the mix to give it a strawberry taste, 5) used GF all purpose flour. Might need to add a little more milk to not have such a thick batter. For the frosting I mixed one package of Dream Whip, sugar free vanilla pudding and 1 cup of milk. Taste like cake and ice cream. Made them into cupcakes. My 26yr old daughter loved these for her birthday. Thank you for everyone's views and for posting to this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Awesome is all I can say. I didn't have white rice flour, so used brown, and it turned out beautifully. I used lactose free skim milk, and Hellman's lite mayonnaise. It was lovely and moist and didn't dry out after a few days. It rose higher than any other recipe I have tried, including box mixes. Will definitely put this into my recipe book. Only problem I had was that the icing kept sliding off of it, and I had to keep putting it back on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Finally! A gluten free cake that doesnt taste awful! After days of recipe modifying and trying new recipes i was about to give up then i tried this one. I substituted the tapioca flour and white rice flour for Robin Hood's gluten-free flour blend and it came out fine. All the recipes i tried were bland and chalky but this one came out pretty well. Will be using this again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great taste for a Gluten Free Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I'm so happy to find a gluten free white cake recipe that works!! thank you so much! it never fails and is amazing! even last time I forgot the BP it still got eaten lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was so delicious and moist!!! So moist! I did use Bobs gluten free all purpose flour and an egg replacer due to an egg allergy. I did also add a little cinnamon and dang they turned out great!!! I did cupcakes at 350 for about 22 minutes. Yummmm will keep and do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was a total flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I just followed this recipe exactly and somehow it turned out with the exact taste and texture of delicious... CORN BREAD! How?! I'm a semi-professional baker and I have no idea what could have gone wrong. It was very important for me to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States