Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
Great gluten-free bread. I followed the recipe but added a little bit more of the rice flour, soy flour and potato starch. My bread machine is a Hamilton Beach HomeBaker bread machine ($45 Walmart). I used sweet bread cycle. I really appreciated the review from SMS on July 27, 2011, who summed up everything. I will try the tapioca flour instead of the soy because I am trying to cut out soy. "Here's a summary of all the reviews below that I found work best: Use the crust color medium and set for 2lb loaf. Use sweet bread cycle (NOT GF). I use Whole Milk instead of Buttermilk (mostly out of convenience as I have it on hand)and when I did try the buttermilk, it came out tart. Definitely add 1/2 tsp baking powder for better texture. I replaced the soy flour with tapioca flour. I use brown rice flour instead of white rice flour. Add an additional 1/4 cup of tapioca flour and an additional 1/4 cup of brown rice flour. If you are like me, making 2 loaves a week, save some time and measure out enough of the dry ingredients for 6+ loaves. In other words, place 6 big bowls on your counter and, for example, as you dispense the salt, distribute 1 tsp into each of the 6 bowls. Do NOT add the yeast here--do this only when actually making the bread (as directed on the above recipe). Mix the dry components well, then label a 1 quart glad bag and you're set. When it's time to make bread, add wet ingredients to bread machine, then dump mixed, dry components on top, then yeast."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lemke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Everyone just loved this bread! I did like many people suggested and added almost an extra cup of flour. The other change I did was to use about 1 1/2 cup of tapioca flour and 2 1/2 cup of Bob's Red Mill all purpose flour instead of all the mix of other flours and potato starch. I let it bake in my bread machine on sweet crust setting and it turned out beautifully. Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by onyxnox
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Just made this twice. DH was diagnosed as Celiac Disease this year and we have been trying different recipes to find a homemade bread that is decent. I made some minor changes. I added a package of gelatin for elasticity, and used millet flour instead of soy as I did not have soy flour. I used white rice flour, and added a couple of tsp of baking powder to see if it would help with leavening. The first time, I used the Sweet Dough cycle, but it was almost as long as the regular cycle, and had a second rise - no good for gluten free breads, and I ended up with a very flat topped loaf. The texture was still pretty good and as my pan is small, it still made a tall enough loaf to make a decent sandwich. For the second time, I used the Quick Bread cycle, which is about half the time of the regular cycle, and seems to have only 1 rise. The second loaf also had the baking powder. It turned out just as tasty, and slightly higher than the first loaf. The loaf was moist, sliced nicely, and had a mild, slightly sweet flavour. DH liked the texture of the fresh bread, and it made a nice sandwich that held to slicing and did not crumble apart like previous attempts. That is what DH wants, a bread that does not have a flavour that will overwhelm sandwich fixings, and that won't fall apart when he takes it to work and has it for lunch. If it continues to hold up to handling after a day or two, or after freezing, it may become our go to home made bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onyxnox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nonnarae
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I followed the "proofing" from jaqui B. Review And made this in the oven. It was perfect and my first gluten free recipe ever! It's a batter not a dough, but it's perfect when it cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is the best ever gluten-free bread I've ever made! Thanks for this wonderful recipe. I added raisins and chopped dry fruits to my recipes. The first time I only added cynamon and cloves. It is very yummi-yummi. Hey, just adding a comment: After making it for some 4 or 5 times, I noticed that it is sometimes kind of dry! So, I added a bit more oil. I'm using 1/3 of olive oil and it is far more better and soft. A bit more humid, very nice! I keep it on a plastic bag into the fridge. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jandira
Living In: Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naynay500
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Used half and half instead... Used sweet rice flour. Added extra honey... Used coconut flour and no xanthum gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
absolutely delicious. i did everything recommended by SMSs review and it is so moist and yummy. will be making again and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Great Recipe!! I have tried many bread recipes without a machine and I have not been satisfied since I am trying to get as close to regular store bought bread as possible. I have purchased the frozen brands at the store and still was not satisfied. This is the first recipe that I have tried with a machine and it is a fabulous rendition of white bread. It cuts well, it holds together well and it has a really good flavor. I ate 2 pieces with butter while it was still warm and I haven't even tried it when it was cooled off on a sandwich yet but I am sure it will taste just as great. It was nice and easy to throw all of the ingredients in the bread machine and wait for the results which met my expectations fully!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This recipe works well in my Cuisinart bread maker on the gluten free cycle. I live in a very dry climate so I started with the 1 1/4 c of buttermilk (I used the buttermilk pwdr you keep in the fridge)and I did not have to add any extra water. Also I did not have corn starch so I looked up substitutes and used 2 tsp of tapicoa flour for every 1 T of cornstarch. Do take the time to scrape down the sides of the pan during the first knead to make sure everything mixes right. We loved this bread. Even my non-GF kids loved this bread. I am really quite surprised at how good it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This was the very first bread I had ever made. I love this bread. It comes out perfect in my cuisinart bread maker every time. I've made it now about 10 times in a row. My husband keeps trying to get me to branch out and explore some other recipes too. (He loves this bread). I can't seem to move on. This really satisfies my urge for a classic bread. I eat it mainly toasted with butter every day. Used tapioca starch instead of cornstarch Used almond flour instead of soy flour Used coconut milk instead of butter milk Used instant bread machine yeast Pre-warmed liquids Browned top in oven after. Love this bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States