Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Yucca13
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Just substituted Cup for Cup for all flours and xanthan gum = 3 1/3 cups Cup for Cup. Mixed in breadman,transfer to bread pan. rise in warm oven 20 min. transferred to 350 degree oven in greased bread pan for about 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TANIS321
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
What a fantastic recipe! The things I changed are simply because I didn't have all the required ingredients. I uses 1 cup brown rice flour and 1 cup white rice flour (didn't have enough white), substituted tapioca flour for potato, and since I don't have a bread machine, I plopped it in a bread pan, let it rise once, then baked it at 350 for 40 minutes. Thank you so much for the recipe, it will make this whole gluten free thing a whole lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This recipe has made me love my new bread maker! I did follow a few of the changes in the comments (added 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/4 cup each of both kinds of flour) I also used soy milk due to a dairy allergy and it came out great!! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Excellent taste & texture. One problem can someone explain why the loaf caved in the middle?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I had a hard time giving this one star. Better not to eat bread than try to eat this. Too dense. Terrible taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Made this bread it was the best gluten free bread I have ever made. I did use 2 packages of yeast and elimated the vinegar. Crusty on the outside soft and flovorful on the inside. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I tried making this recipe to cut down costs of pricey g-free store bread. Ingredients are pricey (xanthan gum was $13) but will make several loaves. This recipe is delish! I love the consistency. It is a very dense, hearty bread. Has just the right amount if sweetness. Gobbled my first loaf, second is in the machine as we speak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Wow!! This turned out great, just as well as the whole wheat bread my mom always makes in her bread maker. It had a classic bread texture, the only problem is the taste is something I will try and play around with, though as far as gluten free breads go, it tastes great. After reading the other reviews, I made a few alterations to the recipe using some of their tips and some other tips I've found. Here is what I did: Used 3+5/6 Cup of Bob's Redmill All Purpose Gluten Free Flour instead of all of the flours and starches the recipe called for, (that amount is including the extra 1/2 cup other reviewers said this recipe needed), used a scant 1/4 cup of honey, 1 Tbsp of raw cane sugar, 1 Tbsp of mayonnaise, 1/8 tsp of citric acid (got it at the healthfood store along with the xanthan gum), 1/2 tsp baking powder,and since I didn't have buttermilk, I used 1 C heavy whipping cream with 1/2 tsp lemon juice an 1/2 C of water, though next time I will try 1+1/2 C buttermilk. I used the same amt of eggs, xanthan gum, yeast, salt, olive oil and cider vinegar as called for in the original recipe. I also made sure all of my ingredients were room temperature (just left them out on the counter a couple hours before making. For the bread machine, I selected a large loaf, medium color crust. I cannot wait to make this again and experiment! yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
One of my favorite gluten free bread recipes. I am always substituting some kind of flour or another, sorghum instead of white rice etc depending on what is in my cupboard..but as long as there is a good balance of very fine flours (tapioca, cornstarch or potato flours)to the heavier flours(rice, sorghum, soy) it always seems to work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was great! I thought this was better than store-bought gluten-free bread. I did make some changes however, so that is why it is a 4-star, but with the changes, it is a 5-star. I didn't have honey so I used maple syrup. I used an all-purpose gluten free flour instead of the soy flour and add about 1/2 cup flour because the batter was really wet. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder as recommended by another user.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States