Gluten Free Waffles!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Best gluten-free recipe yet! For a little healthy-fat, I substituted coconut oil for the applesauce and that just made them even better--plus they didn't stick so bad and came out crispier--bonus all the way around! Definitely a make again and again kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Agreed, Best gluten-free waffle recipe! I usually have Greek yogurt available, so I use this as a substitute for the applesauce. I also use this recipe for pancakes and eliminate the vanilla:) To add more nutrition I add: 1/8-1-4 cup of Flaxseed and/or substitute Stevia for the sugar! I LOVE this recipe!!! Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
These were fantastic waffles. And not just fantastic for gluten free, these were hands down fantastic waffles! The only change I made was because I didn't have applesauce I added about 2 tbsps melted butter. We cooked them with some chocolate chips and even my non-gluten friends wanted the recipe because they tasted better than the wheat ones. They were crispy on the outside and fluffy and soft on the inside. The batter is super thick (like paste) but we spread it on the waffle maker and they turned out just great. Definitely a keeper! They didn't last long enough to take a photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
These are amazing! I used all chicken eggs and cinnamon flavored applesauce. My kids gobbled these up. I plan on freezing the extra and putting them in the toaster for busy school mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MNmom
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This is a rockin' recipe. Everyone liked it! I am going to try the tips for less sugar and substituting coconut oil for applesauce. The aroma when this are baking is absolutely divine. Yum--mie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I halved the recipe because this was my first time making it. That didn't seem to effect the consistency. I only used chicken eggs. I used coconut milk instead of almond. I was concerned about it sticking as it doesn't have any fat in it however, they didn't stick that much even without cooking spray. Crisp on the outside and warm and moist on the inside. Consistency was very close to regular waffles. I would use almond milk or dairy alternative next time to avoid the coconut flavor. Overall very good. Wonder what buckwheat flour or adding oil to them would do. I baked the whole batter and froze them so I could pull them out in the hectic mornings. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Iowa, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Very good would never know they are gluten free. The only thing I changed was I used all chicken eggs. Made up the whole batch and froze them to put in the toaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
My son has celiacs and this is the best recipe I've found yet! I took the suggestion of using coconut oil. The batter was a little bumpy but they didn't stick to the waffle iron. I also used all chicken eggs. Very yummy and great fluffy texture with crisp outside. Really the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I was hesitant at first due to the work involved. I couldn't find another recipe that looked quite as good so I pushed through my reluctance! This was not difficult at all. I always read the reviews and try helpful hints ... So I subbed butter for the applesauce and used dairy. I had always considered duck eggs to be larger than chicken - and only having chicken, I added one extra. Excellent waffle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States