Gluten Free Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I added 1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum to the dry ingredients, (which I add to anything calling for gluten-free flour) and they turned out fantastic. I was able to make them thin and they're flexible enough to roll into a burrito shape without cracking. A new staple recipe for my kitchen! Used Gluten-Free King Arthur Flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This is tough to judge! Gluten free will taste different, and even cook differently. I just haven't adjusted my taste buds, though! This really has a "dry" taste to it. I could not cook this the same way I made whole wheat flour tortillas because this breaks apart if rolled out thin. If left thick, these 4" cakes couldn't be called tortillas. Either way,they fell apart when cooking! With a desire for gluten free tortilla shells, possibly substituting another kind of flour for some of the gluten free flour might help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These tortillas turned out very well. They taste so much better than the standard store-bought flour tortillas and much lower in sodium. I did cover the pan so they would cook through, they puff up but will flatten out when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I'm stuck between Never Again! and Maybe xanthan gum, it helps the bread? Impossible to roll out, pick up, get to skillet without tearing it, rolling up the edges, etc. Total pain, and I didn't like how they taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
didn't work out at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Added 1 teas. xanthan gum(check if allergic before using) per cup of flour, to allow rolling them out. Tweaked the baking powder a bit less and the second time making these, used coconut oil in place of the shortening. I believe my third attempt to be better the last one...these tortillas are worth trying, very good flavor and texture. Will try making these with an alternative for the xanthan gum after a few more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was terrible. Why wouldn't you use corn masa flour to make a traditional corn tortilla? If it ain't broke, don't fix it! Bleck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I am new to gluten free, but these were good! The only thing I did different is to add xanthan gum. I made them more like flat bread. I loved the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klkestner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States