Gluten-Free Thai Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Great Recipe, add more red curry paste for more flavour and add sesame oil instead of grapeseed, less though. Squeeze in real lime and add thai basil if you can find it and/or kaffir lime leaves (these keep well in the freezer). Another name for this is Tom Ka Gai soup.Very yummy! I like to use mushrooms, lemongrass and onions instead of broccoli making it more of a Tom Ka Gain soup. Also for gluten free makes sure you check the chicken stock you use as most commercial stocks are NOT gluten free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I was craving some Thai soup, and had some chicken broth and chicken made up from earlier in the week. This was easy and tasty ... I didn't have broccoli so just used some fresh asparagus. Served with rice, it really hit the spot! (But I still have to find out what agave nectar is ...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was yummy. We will definitely have it again. Changes required: couldn't locate the agave nectar, but it really seemed to lack nothing! Used lime juice, but no lime garnish. Otherwise, made it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made this soup with oyster sauce instead of fish sauce. It still came out delicious. The red curry and the coconut milk taste great together. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
used green curry paste (store didn't have red) and added rice noodles. This was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe, I did not have all the ingredients so I used what I had on hand. I had lemon juice, basil, spinach, celery, carrots, onion, kidney beans, corn. Also I only had yellow curry paste and just 1 can of coconut milk so I used more chicken stock. I did have fish sauce which i don't think you can do without. The soup still turned out great even with all the changes which is an indication of a good solid recipe. Would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I loved this recipe! I followed it to every ingredient and thought it came out great! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
The soup was delicious but lacking some spice to it. Our local thai restaurant makes theirs warm enough to make your nose run, so I think I will add some red chili oil next time to give it that heat. I used sesame oil instead of grapeseed, and did not add agave nectar and definitely more red curry paste than it called for. All in all a great recipe to make and then tweek to your personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Great, healthy recipe. Substituted light coconut milk, oyster sauce for the fish sauce, and poached the chicken separately for some added flavor. Followed the recipe otherwise, and worked great. Added some rice noodles, but they ended up being difficult to eat with the other chunks in the soup. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
MMMMM.... I am know hungry! this is really good! I hope you guys like it too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States