Gluten-Free Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This is a good shortcake. It is a bit crumbly, but hey-that's what forks are for. I also left out the xanthan gum so I expected a crumb or two. Mine spread out on the baking sheet into one huge sheet cake so I used cookie cutters to make individual servings then used the crumbs to make shot glass shortcakes. :-) I put the crumbs in the bottom, then chopped strawberries and then cream sauce and layered it to the rim. Voila! A show stopping fancy dessert. I didn't use whipped topping but mixed up a rose water cream that was heavenly on the fresh strawberries and this delicate cake. Definitely add this to your gluten free dessert Top 10 list. Easy enough to make in a few minutes for a quick snack o even prepare for an "oooh" and "ahhhh" treat when friends come over. Thank you for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
The flavor was really good; however, mine came out flat and looked more like cookies. I'm not sure why they spread like they did and I have to agree with another reviewer, they were crumbly, very crumbly. Regardless of the cookie-like appearance and crumbliness we served them in a bowl topped with strawberries and whipped cream and they were gone in a flash. This was a nice treat and I will make it again despite their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Delicious flavor!! I didn't need as much milk as called for, so follow recipe and add alternately like it says!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I tried this tonight with my own gluten free flour blend that includes equal parts coconut flour, sorghum flour, tapioca flour, cornstarch and white rice flour. (2 cups total) I sprinkled nutmeg and cinnamon on top. I used almond milk instead of skim milk and coconut oil instead of vegetable shortening. It turned out perfectly and we couldn't stop eating them plain--awesome with strawberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
These had good flavor, and a decent texture when warm. There's no way you could cut them in half though, since they turned out flat as pancakes. If I make them again, I'll try chilling the batter to see if that will stop them from spreading. Once these were cooled, they were crumbly and dry. My family liked them, regardless of flaws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Absolutely Delicious!!!!! I am truly suprised that this recipe only has 5 reviews. This is the best Gluten free strawberry shortcake that I have had in a very long time!! The only thing I changed was coconut oil instead of shortening.Thank You Dstier for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Delicious! I thought I was going to have to give up shortcake with my gluten, but not so! This recipe is awesome. I used coconut oil and white rice flower, and it turned out great. Because I cook for everyone (hubby and 4 kids), I needed everyone to buy into the GF shortcake and it was a huge hit! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Very easy recipe! I had to modify since I didn't have everything on hand. I used 2 cups of King Arthur's GF All Purpose Baking Mix rather than mix all the flours and starches together... And then I used coconut oil in place of the shortening. VERY GOOD. I started tasting it while it was still warm and it was hard to stop! :) I made this for my hubby's birthday cake and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megon Adkins Steele

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This recipe surprised me. I often avoid brown rice, but the flavor worked well with this. I did substitute potato starch for the cornstarch and it seemed to make no difference. Be aware that when you bake it it didn't hold it's shape and spread a lot. I was very concerned about how it was going to turn out and even though the shape was large and round, the consistency and taste were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This is an ABSOLUTELY wonderful recipe! I made this for my mother-in-law who has siliac disease and after the first bite, she was like a little child eating cake. Her comment was "I have not had this taste in over 20 years!" I did not change a single thing with this recipe! I profess I am not an outstanding cook - just somebody who likes to try different recipes provided by the wonderful cooks/people like DStier who had taken the time out to share them with us. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!! 5++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Split glazed doughnut layered with sweet strawberries and freshly whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States