Gluten-Free Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Delicious flavor!! I didn't need as much milk as called for, so follow recipe and add alternately like it says!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I tried this tonight with my own gluten free flour blend that includes equal parts coconut flour, sorghum flour, tapioca flour, cornstarch and white rice flour. (2 cups total) I sprinkled nutmeg and cinnamon on top. I used almond milk instead of skim milk and coconut oil instead of vegetable shortening. It turned out perfectly and we couldn't stop eating them plain--awesome with strawberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
These had good flavor, and a decent texture when warm. There's no way you could cut them in half though, since they turned out flat as pancakes. If I make them again, I'll try chilling the batter to see if that will stop them from spreading. Once these were cooled, they were crumbly and dry. My family liked them, regardless of flaws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Absolutely Delicious!!!!! I am truly suprised that this recipe only has 5 reviews. This is the best Gluten free strawberry shortcake that I have had in a very long time!! The only thing I changed was coconut oil instead of shortening.Thank You Dstier for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Delicious! I thought I was going to have to give up shortcake with my gluten, but not so! This recipe is awesome. I used coconut oil and white rice flower, and it turned out great. Because I cook for everyone (hubby and 4 kids), I needed everyone to buy into the GF shortcake and it was a huge hit! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Very easy recipe! I had to modify since I didn't have everything on hand. I used 2 cups of King Arthur's GF All Purpose Baking Mix rather than mix all the flours and starches together... And then I used coconut oil in place of the shortening. VERY GOOD. I started tasting it while it was still warm and it was hard to stop! :) I made this for my hubby's birthday cake and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeMe Muffin Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This recipe surprised me. I often avoid brown rice, but the flavor worked well with this. I did substitute potato starch for the cornstarch and it seemed to make no difference. Be aware that when you bake it it didn't hold it's shape and spread a lot. I was very concerned about how it was going to turn out and even though the shape was large and round, the consistency and taste were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This is an ABSOLUTELY wonderful recipe! I made this for my mother-in-law who has siliac disease and after the first bite, she was like a little child eating cake. Her comment was "I have not had this taste in over 20 years!" I did not change a single thing with this recipe! I profess I am not an outstanding cook - just somebody who likes to try different recipes provided by the wonderful cooks/people like DStier who had taken the time out to share them with us. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!! 5++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
AWESOME!!!! This was very good. My whole family enjoyed it. I just kept eating it even plain without the strawberries. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States