Gluten Free Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
My daughter-in-law made this recipe for her daughter's 2nd family birthday party. She made it into cupcakes and they were delicious! They did not taste gluten free and were moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Easy to make, taste is good too. Gluten free baking is hard, due to the flours it can often taste chalky or floury. This recipe did have that slight taste but it was super moist which was nice. I love the use of applesauce. I made cupcakes instead of a cake because of the event I was making them for. Took about 14 minutes in the oven, rotating the sheet halfway through. I topped the cupcakes with a cream cheese frosting and they were extremely delicious. Thank you for sharing this recipe it will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Very moist and delicate. I had a hard time removing them from the muffin tin, even though I greased them ( I didn't flour them and probably should have) I subed almond flour for the coconut only because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Love it with my dad and brother being on a gluten free diet it was perfect for them and it tasted no different than any regular red velvet cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
The taste of the cake was good, made even beter by a cream cheese frosting. Unfortunately the cake batter was more like the consistancy of dough after all was mixed. When the batter was put in the pan it had to be spooned into the pan and it did not spread out to fill the pan. After baking the cake was still very thick. if there is anyway to thin the batter would be great to know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BettyLuvs2Cook
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
You have restored my faith in gluten free desserts. I can now comfortably say delicious and gluten-free in the same sentence. I replaced the buttermilk with coconut milk and they still turned out FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I'm allergic to all nuts, including coconuts. Can I replace the coconut flour by another one ? I'm a stay-at-home mom owning a small catering business from home. Me and one of my customers have to cut Gluten from our life... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I am not on a gluten free diet, however, I made these for the baby shower of a friend who has celiac. They were very tasty and moist. The texture is good and there is no strange aftertaste like sometimes happens with gluten-free baked goods. They were a hit at the party as well. The guest of honor said they were the best gluten-free cupcakes she had ever had. Her sister ran over to tell the guest of honor not to eat them as she was convinced they couldn't be gluten free after eating them. For people who plan to make cupcakes, this recipe will make about 2 dozen. Another reviewer said the batter was thick like dough. I did not find that to be the case at all. It had a normal cake batter texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Fabulous! Absolutely fabulous! I make this recipe when I need to bring a dish/dessert that my gluten-free daughter can enjoy at functions and no one else can tell they are gluten free! So wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Schultz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Appleton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Great tasting, moist and YES, I'd make them again. A guest at a party had recently been put on a gluten free diet and I needed to make dessert. I am so happy I found this recipe - like other reviews, many were asking "these are gluten free?". Thanks for sharing this, it will become part of our recipe armor for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States