Gluten Free Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe! I made this for Christmas, with Alton Brown's red velvet cake cream cheese frosting. I made two layers, and it's not a really tall cake, but the texture is very good. If no one told you it is a GF cake, you would not know - and that is the true test for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made this recipe into cupcakes for Christmas dinner. I sprayed the cupcake pans and used sugar in a shaker to coat each "cup" (avoided liners that way) and the cakes came out easily. This recipe is very good--as promised--especially with cream cheese icing! [Not a complaint--but a question: The dough was very stiff. I wonder if I could add some more buttermilk and/or applesauce to make dough a little lighter? May try that next time.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This cake was enjoyed by many. People were surprised it was gluten free. I iced it with milk chocolate, cream cheese icing and it was very, very, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is far and away the best gluten-free dessert I've ever tasted. I made them into cupcakes and the cake had a beautiful crumb and was perfectly moist. It also rose nicely, and wasn't brick-like as many GF recipes end up being - exactly the right mixture of density and lightness. I can't praise this recipe highly enough - I got a ton of compliments on this. I'm not even the biggest fan of red velvet and thought it was spectacular. This recipe is a keeper for sure - I'll certainly be making it many more times in the future. I typically don't even bother trying to find GF substitutes for desserts as I inevitably find them disappointing, but the positive reviews persuaded me to try this - totally worthwhile. I paired it with a not-to-sweet cream cheese frosting and the result was perfectly decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Dear Julycious, based on my experience with coconut flour, I would recommend trying a bean flour such as garbanzo bean flour. I have had cakes with bean flour and have found them very tasty. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
can't believe i have been baking gluten free for 5 years and i just now found this recipe. it is really, really good. and the cake is the right texture. i actually left out the xanthan gum and it still worked just fine. also, i used rice milk with 2 thsp apple cider vinegar in place of the buttermilk so the cake itself would be non dairy. if anyone has a good cream cheese substitute for making a good frosting, let me know, it is hard to beat real cream cheese though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Great tasting, moist and YES, I'd make them again. A guest at a party had recently been put on a gluten free diet and I needed to make dessert. I am so happy I found this recipe - like other reviews, many were asking "these are gluten free?". Thanks for sharing this, it will become part of our recipe armor for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Fabulous! Absolutely fabulous! I make this recipe when I need to bring a dish/dessert that my gluten-free daughter can enjoy at functions and no one else can tell they are gluten free! So wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Schultz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Appleton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I am not on a gluten free diet, however, I made these for the baby shower of a friend who has celiac. They were very tasty and moist. The texture is good and there is no strange aftertaste like sometimes happens with gluten-free baked goods. They were a hit at the party as well. The guest of honor said they were the best gluten-free cupcakes she had ever had. Her sister ran over to tell the guest of honor not to eat them as she was convinced they couldn't be gluten free after eating them. For people who plan to make cupcakes, this recipe will make about 2 dozen. Another reviewer said the batter was thick like dough. I did not find that to be the case at all. It had a normal cake batter texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I'm allergic to all nuts, including coconuts. Can I replace the coconut flour by another one ? I'm a stay-at-home mom owning a small catering business from home. Me and one of my customers have to cut Gluten from our life... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States