Gluten Free Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I am sorry to say, but this recipe did not come out to red velvet. Yes, I followed it to the T, but it just didn't come out. It may be my fault, but the cake didn't come out red, so I assume it is my fault because I didn't have 1 ounce of red food coloring (I only had 0.3 ounces, and squeezed EVRYTHING I could out of the tube). The coco powder, vanilla extract, and red food coloring didn't come out as a paste that I though it would. This was my second recipe trying to make gluten-free red velvet cake, and a second failure making an actual red velvet cake. Will not make again... (Sorry, ktonks!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Our entire family loves these as cupcakes! The recipe is great as is but personally I have made some shortcuts that make them easier and turn out great! I use JULES AP GF flour mix instead of all the different flours listed (2 1/2 cups), eliminate the xanthan gum as JULES has that covered in her flour mix. and I use the pretty cupcake liners for the muffin cups for easy clean-up. To make them dairy-free I use almond or soy milk + 1 Tbsp vinegar to = the buttermilk. I also am now adding 2 Tbsp of "cake enhancer" by King Arthur Flour to make them stay fresh longer. It is a great product and gluten-free. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
My husband's favorite cake is Red Velvet; I tried baking it twice when we got married and failed miserably...didn't taste anything like his grandma's...dry, crumbly. 20 years and 4 kids later I gave it another shot because our youngest has a wheat allergy. This is the best cake that I've EVER made in my life, gluten free or not. So moist. Freezes well too. 2 tips: do as others suggested and use sugar to coat your muffin tins after spraying with cooking oil instead of flour which slightly sweetens the cake and they'll fall out of the tin easily. Using room temperature ingredients makes a HUGE difference. Don't skip that step. Make your own buttermilk with vinegar instead of buying some and save the money for all the flours. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe! I made this for Christmas, with Alton Brown's red velvet cake cream cheese frosting. I made two layers, and it's not a really tall cake, but the texture is very good. If no one told you it is a GF cake, you would not know - and that is the true test for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made this recipe into cupcakes for Christmas dinner. I sprayed the cupcake pans and used sugar in a shaker to coat each "cup" (avoided liners that way) and the cakes came out easily. This recipe is very good--as promised--especially with cream cheese icing! [Not a complaint--but a question: The dough was very stiff. I wonder if I could add some more buttermilk and/or applesauce to make dough a little lighter? May try that next time.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This cake was enjoyed by many. People were surprised it was gluten free. I iced it with milk chocolate, cream cheese icing and it was very, very, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is far and away the best gluten-free dessert I've ever tasted. I made them into cupcakes and the cake had a beautiful crumb and was perfectly moist. It also rose nicely, and wasn't brick-like as many GF recipes end up being - exactly the right mixture of density and lightness. I can't praise this recipe highly enough - I got a ton of compliments on this. I'm not even the biggest fan of red velvet and thought it was spectacular. This recipe is a keeper for sure - I'll certainly be making it many more times in the future. I typically don't even bother trying to find GF substitutes for desserts as I inevitably find them disappointing, but the positive reviews persuaded me to try this - totally worthwhile. I paired it with a not-to-sweet cream cheese frosting and the result was perfectly decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Dear Julycious, based on my experience with coconut flour, I would recommend trying a bean flour such as garbanzo bean flour. I have had cakes with bean flour and have found them very tasty. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
can't believe i have been baking gluten free for 5 years and i just now found this recipe. it is really, really good. and the cake is the right texture. i actually left out the xanthan gum and it still worked just fine. also, i used rice milk with 2 thsp apple cider vinegar in place of the buttermilk so the cake itself would be non dairy. if anyone has a good cream cheese substitute for making a good frosting, let me know, it is hard to beat real cream cheese though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Great tasting, moist and YES, I'd make them again. A guest at a party had recently been put on a gluten free diet and I needed to make dessert. I am so happy I found this recipe - like other reviews, many were asking "these are gluten free?". Thanks for sharing this, it will become part of our recipe armor for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States