Gluten Free Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very good cake. My partner has too many allergies to list here, so this recipe is a godsend. I have made it twice now. Both times I substituted Pacific brand rice milk in place of the buttermilk. The first time I made the cake with half canola and half butter; the second time I did it using only refined coconut oil. Both times my results were moist and very fluffy (especially in the case of the coconut oil), which is a delightful surprise considering it's gluten-free, and I'm very impressed with the recipe for this reason. The first time I made it the flavour was not chocolate-y enough for my liking, so the second time I made it I used half a cup of cocoa powder and a dash more oil, which was an improvement. (The next time I make this cake I might play around with some baking chocolate instead of the cocoa, to see if it makes for a deeper chocolate flavour.) I also added orange zest to the batter the second time, which was very delicious. For frosting I used a mixture of coconut oil, strained fresh-squeezed orange juice, and confectioner's sugar. A nice complement to a nice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I took another's suggestion and made this easier by using 2 1/2 cups Pamela's Gluten Free All Purpose flour (can be found on Amazon.com for 11.37 for 4 lbs). I did not make the paste, but added the food coloring directly into the wet ingredients with my mixer on low. (From another non gluten free recipe I use to make red velvet cake). Once I was done mixing the wet ingredients I took the mixing bowl off my kitchen aid and hand mixed the dry ingredients / butter milk with a whisk. I found the first time I tried a different recipe with the Gluten Free Flour that it gummed up and was EXTREMELY thick, but mixing by hand it did not get TOO thick and made BEAUTIFUL cupcakes. Also I just used what applesauce I had on hand, which had sugar added, but it's what I had. My hubby has gone back for several cupcakes and I hadn't even put frosting on the them ;) Can't wait to make them again for the baby shower I'm hosting for a Gluten Free friend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I found this recipe today and immediately made them with my 10 year old daughter. I am always the skeptic with gluten-free recipes, they are normally hit and miss but this one is a keeper! This recipe was easy to make and turned out moist, not crumbly or chalky. I baked them into cupcakes and used cupcake liners. The batter is thick, as other reviewers had mentioned but I had no problems with it. I used a large cookie scoop to scoop it into the cupcake well. When baking in 9" cake pans, I will just use a spatula to spread the batter evenly. I will add this to my file of best-loved gluten free recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
These are very good but I ALWAYS use organic extra virgin olive oil in baking, I cannot taste the olive oil in baked goods. I keep the oven at 325 degrees for all baked goods. I used half the sugar and added a little stevia powder. I stirred a small chunk of cooked beet into the batter for color, then removed it instead of using food coloring. With these changes I felt good about serving these. Next time I'm going to try all purpose gluten free flour to save time... and experiment with a portion being coconut flour. Thanks for the recipe, we love red velvet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Newport
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made these for a celiac coworker. The batter tasted HORRIBLE but I went ahead and baked them anyway and they turned out fantastic. The chalky taste and texture baked right out. The celiac gobbled them up, and even the gluten loving coworkers enjoyed them. I thought the batter wasn't quite sweet enough, but no one else seemed to notice. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing, ktonks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Newport
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I made a dozen of these for my church's bake sale table at the holiday bazaar this weekend, and they were gobbled up in less than an hour! At least a half dozen people asked for the recipe. Nobody could believe they were gluten free! I made two small substitutions: I used safflower oil instead of canola oil, and I only had a cup of white sugar in my cupboard so one-half cup of the 1-1/2 cups of sugar was brown sugar. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as given. I will definitely be making this again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I am sorry to say, but this recipe did not come out to red velvet. Yes, I followed it to the T, but it just didn't come out. It may be my fault, but the cake didn't come out red, so I assume it is my fault because I didn't have 1 ounce of red food coloring (I only had 0.3 ounces, and squeezed EVRYTHING I could out of the tube). The coco powder, vanilla extract, and red food coloring didn't come out as a paste that I though it would. This was my second recipe trying to make gluten-free red velvet cake, and a second failure making an actual red velvet cake. Will not make again... (Sorry, ktonks!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Our entire family loves these as cupcakes! The recipe is great as is but personally I have made some shortcuts that make them easier and turn out great! I use JULES AP GF flour mix instead of all the different flours listed (2 1/2 cups), eliminate the xanthan gum as JULES has that covered in her flour mix. and I use the pretty cupcake liners for the muffin cups for easy clean-up. To make them dairy-free I use almond or soy milk + 1 Tbsp vinegar to = the buttermilk. I also am now adding 2 Tbsp of "cake enhancer" by King Arthur Flour to make them stay fresh longer. It is a great product and gluten-free. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
My husband's favorite cake is Red Velvet; I tried baking it twice when we got married and failed miserably...didn't taste anything like his grandma's...dry, crumbly. 20 years and 4 kids later I gave it another shot because our youngest has a wheat allergy. This is the best cake that I've EVER made in my life, gluten free or not. So moist. Freezes well too. 2 tips: do as others suggested and use sugar to coat your muffin tins after spraying with cooking oil instead of flour which slightly sweetens the cake and they'll fall out of the tin easily. Using room temperature ingredients makes a HUGE difference. Don't skip that step. Make your own buttermilk with vinegar instead of buying some and save the money for all the flours. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe! I made this for Christmas, with Alton Brown's red velvet cake cream cheese frosting. I made two layers, and it's not a really tall cake, but the texture is very good. If no one told you it is a GF cake, you would not know - and that is the true test for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States