Gluten Free Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I'm sold! first time I ever tried a gluten free pie crust made from alternate flours, and it was perfect! It wasn't too dry or wet and the flavor was great This will be my # 1 crust recipe for both fruit and meal pies. I was a bit concerned as it seemed so wet when I added the water & vanilla, but it dried to and excellent texture that matched the fresh organic blueberry pie when baked. As a previous reviewer commented, I also added 1/2 cup each all purpose and rice flours. The prep time was better than other recipes I've tried too. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This worked out really well! I made 2 1/2 times the original recipe, and it was perfect for a top and bottom crust in my shallow, 8" pie pan. My flour was quite grainy, so it never mixed into something that can be rolled out, but I pressed the bottom crust into the pie plate fine. For the top crust, I smushed down forkfuls of crust and flipped it onto the top until the pie was covered, then smushed the pieces together. Post-baking, the bottom crust was soft like a regular pie crust, and the top was crisp like a crumble crust. This could have been because I added a lot of water to the top, hoping it would mix together. Either way, it was very good! I'm so happy to have pie back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I found this recipe in a pinch last night as I was making my Thanksgiving pies and realized I underestimated my gluten free dough quantity and didn't get enough of the premade dough from the store. This recipe was very easy to make. I did substitute the rice flour with an all purpose flour that I mix myself using brown rice flour, sweet sorgum flour, tapioca flour and xanthum gum. This flour mixture makes a very good all purpose gluten free flour that I can use for both sweet and savory dishes and is cost effective enough I can always have plenty on hand. With this recipe I did have double it to have enough dough for a bigger crust for a large pie pan. I also needed to add a little more flour than called for as it was too sticky when mixed. I did read all the reviews first, noting that it seemed to be easier to work with if refrigerated first. Because it was late and I didn't have the extra time to refrigerate it, I simply rolled it out between two pieces of wax paper. It rolled very nicely and I was able to turn it into my pie pan by setting the pie pan upside down on it after taking off the top layer of wax paper and, using the bottom piece of wax paper, carefully turn the whole thing over. Doing it this way prevented the dough from breaking apart while turning into the pan. I then finished making my pumpkin pie according to the recipe. This pie came out perfectly and was definitely a favorite today. I will use this recipe from now on as my staple GF pie dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Best GF crust--and by far the easiest one--I've ever tried! I used a home made mix of brown rice flour, tapioca starch and potato flour, for the 1c rice flour, and I used Spectrum palm oil shortening. As per other reviews I made a triple batch to make a two-crust pie but it was too much, I put a third of it in the freezer for another time. Must roll between waxed or parchment paper, and fridge or freeze it for a while to prevent tearing when putting in the pie pan. Also added cinnamon to the crust as I was making an apple pie, and when I put the top crust on I sealed it and brushed the top with melted coconut oil and sprinkled cinnamon & sugar on it. Would've loved to add nutmeg but didn't have it. Next time I will add nutmeg to the crust and a little extra vanilla. But it's a nice, flaky crust, and my husband really liked it! And I've tried several pies that he said were "fine" but he's told me 3 times tonight that it was really good :) Thanks for the recipe! Can't wait to try a pot pie or wellington!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I used this recipe but added one part rice flour to one part "Bob's Red Mill, Gluten free all purpose flour." It turned out perfect! Thank you for sharing. I doubled it for a nine inch pecan/chocolate pie. I will use it again and again most definately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Pie crust is one of those recipes that I had not made since going gluten free, and finding it here was a delight. I substituted equal amounts of a gluten free baking mix, doubled the recipe for a 9x13 pan and had to add about another 1/2 to 3/4 cup GF flour mix to get the right consistency for a pie shell. It rolled out easily at that point and went on a chicken pot pie that I made from this site. This was awesome! Thank you Brianna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Best pie crust I've ever made out of gluten free ingredients! This is one recipe where you can really benefit from reading all the reviews because many were quite helpful. I tripled the recipe for a double-crust pie. Knowing in advance that the crust was hard to keep together (thanks to the reviews), I pat the bottom into place, and tried (successfully) to roll out the top crust between 2 sheets of wax paper, keeping the outer side "papered" until after I positioned the crust. I also supplemented the rice flour with some tapioca flour to help smooth out some of the "grainy" texture. I also omitted the vanilla so I could use the crust to make a Chicken Pot Pie from this site. I'll be going to this pastry recipe all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
My husband has really been missing pies lately, so for Thanksgiving, I used this crust for my sweet potato pie and it turned out great! Based on the reviews here, I did use all-purpose gluten-free flour instead of the rice flour and rolled it out between two pieces of wax paper. I also used butter instead of vegetable shortening since that is what I had on hand. I had to use an extra little splash of water more than what was called for, but I live in an extremely dry climate and this is normal for me to have to do with most baking recipes. The rolled dough didn't hold together enough to transfer into the pan in one piece, so I had to cut pieces out and patch them together in the pan, but next time I will try another poster's suggestion of chilling the rolled dough in the freezer before trying to move it and see if that helps. Over all, this was a very easy, straigt-forward and tasty recipe that I will be using again. I made one and a half times the recipe for the bottom half of a 9" pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scottlovessushi
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Made some modifications - really just flying by the seat of my pants. I used butter vs. vegetable shorting and substituted a gluten free baking mix for 1/4 of the rice flower. Still a bit gritty, but consistency and color turned out nice. Also I was able to work with the crust on a silicon baking mat and it was well behaved. I did let it sit in the fridge for a while (while preparing the apples for the apple pie) so i imagine that helped a bit. I will use the recipe again and probably fiddle with the "flour" mix a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Tasted good, but was tricky to work with. Used half arrow root flour and half rice flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States