Gluten Free Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I read all these other recipes that just seemed way too complicated. This recipe is perfect. I used 1/2 cup white rice flour and 1/2 cup cornstarch. I also added 1 teaspoon xanthan gum. After mixing I rolled it into a ball, I covered it in plastic wrap, and put it in the freezer for 20 minutes. It was very flakey and good. 1 note, you should double or triple the recipe. The recipe as is, does not cover a pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Amazing, with minor modifications. Added a tsp more water. Put it in the freezer for 10 min before rolling out. I used Namaste prefect flour blend. It made a wonderful flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Adams Stoehr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Pretty decent for gluten-free pastry but I couldn't make it work for my pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
easy to make but very hard to work with. it was so crumbly, even after adding a bit more water as others suggested. perhaps its because i used gluten-free all purpose flour instead of rice flour? despite how difficult it was to work with, it did taste good (added some cinnamon and nutmeg to my mix). i'll use this recipe again, maybe trying the 1/2 rice flour, 1/2 gluten free all purpose flour combo that someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naxos

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I found this recipe in a pinch last night as I was making my Thanksgiving pies and realized I underestimated my gluten free dough quantity and didn't get enough of the premade dough from the store. This recipe was very easy to make. I did substitute the rice flour with an all purpose flour that I mix myself using brown rice flour, sweet sorgum flour, tapioca flour and xanthum gum. This flour mixture makes a very good all purpose gluten free flour that I can use for both sweet and savory dishes and is cost effective enough I can always have plenty on hand. With this recipe I did have double it to have enough dough for a bigger crust for a large pie pan. I also needed to add a little more flour than called for as it was too sticky when mixed. I did read all the reviews first, noting that it seemed to be easier to work with if refrigerated first. Because it was late and I didn't have the extra time to refrigerate it, I simply rolled it out between two pieces of wax paper. It rolled very nicely and I was able to turn it into my pie pan by setting the pie pan upside down on it after taking off the top layer of wax paper and, using the bottom piece of wax paper, carefully turn the whole thing over. Doing it this way prevented the dough from breaking apart while turning into the pan. I then finished making my pumpkin pie according to the recipe. This pie came out perfectly and was definitely a favorite today. I will use this recipe from now on as my staple GF pie dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This worked out really well! I made 2 1/2 times the original recipe, and it was perfect for a top and bottom crust in my shallow, 8" pie pan. My flour was quite grainy, so it never mixed into something that can be rolled out, but I pressed the bottom crust into the pie plate fine. For the top crust, I smushed down forkfuls of crust and flipped it onto the top until the pie was covered, then smushed the pieces together. Post-baking, the bottom crust was soft like a regular pie crust, and the top was crisp like a crumble crust. This could have been because I added a lot of water to the top, hoping it would mix together. Either way, it was very good! I'm so happy to have pie back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
My husband has really been missing pies lately, so for Thanksgiving, I used this crust for my sweet potato pie and it turned out great! Based on the reviews here, I did use all-purpose gluten-free flour instead of the rice flour and rolled it out between two pieces of wax paper. I also used butter instead of vegetable shortening since that is what I had on hand. I had to use an extra little splash of water more than what was called for, but I live in an extremely dry climate and this is normal for me to have to do with most baking recipes. The rolled dough didn't hold together enough to transfer into the pan in one piece, so I had to cut pieces out and patch them together in the pan, but next time I will try another poster's suggestion of chilling the rolled dough in the freezer before trying to move it and see if that helps. Over all, this was a very easy, straigt-forward and tasty recipe that I will be using again. I made one and a half times the recipe for the bottom half of a 9" pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I'm sold! first time I ever tried a gluten free pie crust made from alternate flours, and it was perfect! It wasn't too dry or wet and the flavor was great This will be my # 1 crust recipe for both fruit and meal pies. I was a bit concerned as it seemed so wet when I added the water & vanilla, but it dried to and excellent texture that matched the fresh organic blueberry pie when baked. As a previous reviewer commented, I also added 1/2 cup each all purpose and rice flours. The prep time was better than other recipes I've tried too. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Tasted good, but was tricky to work with. Used half arrow root flour and half rice flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Best pie crust I've ever made out of gluten free ingredients! This is one recipe where you can really benefit from reading all the reviews because many were quite helpful. I tripled the recipe for a double-crust pie. Knowing in advance that the crust was hard to keep together (thanks to the reviews), I pat the bottom into place, and tried (successfully) to roll out the top crust between 2 sheets of wax paper, keeping the outer side "papered" until after I positioned the crust. I also supplemented the rice flour with some tapioca flour to help smooth out some of the "grainy" texture. I also omitted the vanilla so I could use the crust to make a Chicken Pot Pie from this site. I'll be going to this pastry recipe all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States