Gluten-Free Orange Almond Cake with Orange Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I tested out this cake in hopes of serving it for my mother-in-law's birthday. She is allergic to wheat, soy, and potatos. Its very hard to find any recipe for a cake that fits into her needs. This cake was just okay in my opinion. The flavor was good but the almond flour made it very grainy which was not very pleasant to eat. It was rather heavy and dense as well. The orange sauce was very tasty but it seperates fairly quickly so you really do have to make and serve it immediately. After much more testing, I ended up making a lemon sponge cake roll using rice flour and filled with homemade whipped cream/lemon curd for her that was really nice. This recipe had good flavor, just really bad texture that no one I tried it on liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I'm gluten and dairy intolerant too. I just made the cake and didn't do the sauce. I found this cake to be a pleasant change from gluten free cakes that are heavy and made from besan flour and soy flour. I thought it had a nice flavour and didn't mind the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This cake has an extremely yummy flavor but is a bit crumbly--better eaten with a spoon than a fork! This might be due to the fact that I used homemade almond meal--regular almonds chopped in the food processor. The sauce is good, but I think next time I'll just leave out the egg whites and use the sugar/orange/buttery syrup instead. Like someone else said, the sauce separates quickly. In addition, I followed the recipe exactly and had waaaaaaaay too much sauce. I used about a quarter of the sauce and the cake was soaked. The cake reminded me of a nutty pancake drenched in syrup, which was very delicious. I will halve the syrup recipe next time and leave out the egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Its a great recipe thank you I am wheat, gluten and lactose intolerant so i didnt make the sauce :-) . Just a note; i have made this cake a few times and use Fresh whole mandarines which i boil until they are falling apart (about an hour) and then pulse with a food processor. It makes for a much sweeter, fresher flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
THIS RECIPE MAKES FOR A NICE CHANGE TO GLUTEN FREE CAKE WITHOUT BEING TOO HEAVY OR TOO RICH, ALTHOUGH IT IS VERY SWEET. I HAVENT MADE THE SAUCE TO GO WITH IT YET, BUT THE ACTUAL 'SPONGE' IS A HIT WITH GUESTS, CELIAC OR NOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was my first attempt at a gluten free cake. The process was easy but the cake came out very soft and seems too delicate. I'm leaving it overnight in the hopes that by tomorrow it will settle. I snuck a taste and it is tasty. Not sure if this cake should be so soft or if I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I am sensitive to gluten, and have been eating gluten free for over a year. I thought this was a very good GF cake. It wasn't heavy, dense or crumbly. Having said that, I did make it with a few minor modifications. I didn't have a spring form pan, so I just used a regular cake pan and greased it with crisco, then dusted with rice flour. I had no problems removing it from the pan. I made my own almond meal, which may have made the cake a little moister. For the sauce, I cut the recipe in half and it was still more than enough. I also made it without the egg whites and put the ingredients in a small saucepan to heat it up. I would absolutely make this again, and gave it 4 stars only because of the amount of work it took to make it. The cake alone is delicious, and if someone has a sweet tooth, they can add the sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I used this recipe for a friend who is allergic. It was a huge hit. I would cut the sauce back by half though, it was way too much. I also realized I bought sliced almonds, so I just put them into a ziplock bag and ran them over with my rolling pin a million times to break them up. Very good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandolynnd
Living In: Cordova, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I made this cake for mother's day and everyone loved it, especially the sauce. The cake had a great orange/almond flavour but very dry. When i put the sauce on it, it completely soaked it up and tasted delicious. I did have way too much sauce left over and i would have preferred a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siracusa, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This cake was a little dry, as others noted, but I really liked the taste of it. I added a few dashes of cinnamon, since I really like the flavor combo of orange/cinnamon. My husband, who doesn't have a sweet tooth absolutely loved this cake; consider it more of a sponge cake, though, so it wouldn't hold up to a frosting, only a dollop of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States