Gluten-Free Orange Almond Cake with Orange Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
The cake is light and delicious. For the sauce I made the changes to make 1/2 amount of sauce as recommended by others and added 2 tbsp tapioca flour - still did not thicken enough. The eggs gave it a strange consistency. In the future I will omit this sauce and opt for a simple strawberry-rhubarb or bluenberry sauce intstead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Delicious, light cake! Only change I'd make--there's WAY too much sauce--and it didn't thicken. I made the sauce exactly as directed. When 10-15 min had passed in the double boiler, I added 1 T cornstarch (first mixing some sauce into the cornstarch, then stirring mix gradually into double boiler). Another 10 min, not much happened. Added 1 more T cornstarch--same way. Another 10-15 min. Still needed something else but was starting to taste like cornstarch. Added 2 more egg yolks--same method as cornstarch. FINALLY had results. Sauce was still liquidy but for glazing but it worked. Sauce recipe yielded enough for 2 cakes (I'd double the cake recipe) and one DELICIOUS fruit salad...added 4 diced persimmons, one banana, an apple, several mandarins, one pomegranate, bunch of halved, seedless green grapes. Yum! You'll probably only need less than half of what the recipe says. I doubled the cake recipe--two round cakes--and made the sauce recipe as directed. I had enough left over sauce from the
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I made this for a friend and she said it was awesome. I only made 1/2 the sauce recipe as others had suggested and she said there was plenty. She also thought the sauce would be good on just about anything else including ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This cake was a little dry, as others noted, but I really liked the taste of it. I added a few dashes of cinnamon, since I really like the flavor combo of orange/cinnamon. My husband, who doesn't have a sweet tooth absolutely loved this cake; consider it more of a sponge cake, though, so it wouldn't hold up to a frosting, only a dollop of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I used this recipe for a friend who is allergic. It was a huge hit. I would cut the sauce back by half though, it was way too much. I also realized I bought sliced almonds, so I just put them into a ziplock bag and ran them over with my rolling pin a million times to break them up. Very good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandolynnd
Living In: Cordova, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I am sensitive to gluten, and have been eating gluten free for over a year. I thought this was a very good GF cake. It wasn't heavy, dense or crumbly. Having said that, I did make it with a few minor modifications. I didn't have a spring form pan, so I just used a regular cake pan and greased it with crisco, then dusted with rice flour. I had no problems removing it from the pan. I made my own almond meal, which may have made the cake a little moister. For the sauce, I cut the recipe in half and it was still more than enough. I also made it without the egg whites and put the ingredients in a small saucepan to heat it up. I would absolutely make this again, and gave it 4 stars only because of the amount of work it took to make it. The cake alone is delicious, and if someone has a sweet tooth, they can add the sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I made this cake for mother's day and everyone loved it, especially the sauce. The cake had a great orange/almond flavour but very dry. When i put the sauce on it, it completely soaked it up and tasted delicious. I did have way too much sauce left over and i would have preferred a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siracusa, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This cake has an extremely yummy flavor but is a bit crumbly--better eaten with a spoon than a fork! This might be due to the fact that I used homemade almond meal--regular almonds chopped in the food processor. The sauce is good, but I think next time I'll just leave out the egg whites and use the sugar/orange/buttery syrup instead. Like someone else said, the sauce separates quickly. In addition, I followed the recipe exactly and had waaaaaaaay too much sauce. I used about a quarter of the sauce and the cake was soaked. The cake reminded me of a nutty pancake drenched in syrup, which was very delicious. I will halve the syrup recipe next time and leave out the egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was my first attempt at a gluten free cake. The process was easy but the cake came out very soft and seems too delicate. I'm leaving it overnight in the hopes that by tomorrow it will settle. I snuck a taste and it is tasty. Not sure if this cake should be so soft or if I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I'm gluten and dairy intolerant too. I just made the cake and didn't do the sauce. I found this cake to be a pleasant change from gluten free cakes that are heavy and made from besan flour and soy flour. I thought it had a nice flavour and didn't mind the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States