Gluten Free Macadamia Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I used 5 ounces of Macadamia nuts because that's the only size bag the grocery store sold, and I used some tapioca flour that I had on hand instead of the soy, and it came out great. I was the only Celiac at our Thanksgiving dinner, but everybody liked this pie crust. If you dislike soy as I do, try tapioca. For the reviewer who said it was soggy, remember this recipie is for pre-baked crust. For the record, it was a chocolate pudding pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I used it as a dessert pie crust. Never again. My husband and I will eat anything, but we couldn't eat the pie because the crust tasted so bad. Maybe it would be better used in a pot pie or quiche...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This recipe was awesome. I made it with a ricotta cheese pie recipe and it was phenomenal!!!!!!!!! I LOVE the flavor of pie crust and this didn't let me down!! One note...I used rice flour instead of soy flour (my husband does the shopping and thought the rice flour "looked better" LOL). It STILL turned out excellent! Thanks for sharing~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I cannot believe other people gave this so many stars. I tried it with a variety of toppings, it was not good with any of them. My family agreed. Sorry, not worth the effort on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I was happy to find this recipe when I was looking for a pie crust to put with some apple pie for my gluten intolerant mother-in-law. I think I may have messed up and left out about 1/2 of the nuts, so this may be my own fault, but I didn't like to initial flavor, so I added about a tsp of cinnamon to the crust. I thought it rolled out just fine. I tried making a pretty edge to the crust, which was easy to do, but would not cut through at the edges, so I don't recommend doing that. Also, this seemed a little soggy under the filling and not crispy and flaky. I am going to try this again with a pecan pie, making sure I use the right amount of nuts this time to see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Great! It was a hit with everyone that tried it! The pie I made (peanut butter) and the macadamia nuts were a great combo! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I tried this for a banana cream pie for my gluten-free husband. I used Bob's Redmill general pupose baking flour instead of soy flour. I don't think that was a problem. There was no conceivable way to roll this into a piecrust. I did, however, press it into the pie plate. It did brown up just like regular pie crust though. I did not care for the overpowering taste of the macadamia nuts. They are best eaten in small doses if you ask me and for $5 a bottle, I'll try another recipe. thanks for the effort though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Soy flour gives this recipe a horrible aftertaste. The texture was great, but it tasted very strongly of soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Thank you Crystal for this wonderful gluten free pie crust. I made a pumpkin pie with this recipe for Thanksgiving and my boyfriend who is gluten intolerant was very impressed... he doesn't get to eat pie very often. Even those that aren't gluten intolerant enjoyed this nutty pie crust and it was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Thank you Crystal!! This recipe is amazing! It's easy and quick to prepare and it tastes great. On top of that, the texture is light and the pie crust holds it's form beautifully - so no crumbling and falling apart. I used it for a pumpkin pie I made last night and fed to my friends for a thanksgiving feast and they LOVED it! (None of them are gluten intolerant or coeliac, by the way). Thanks Again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States