Gluten-Free Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This bread came out great. It is simple to make and holds together well, it is way too sweet I will reduce sugar next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This recipe is fabulous. It was easy to make and tastes awesome. You wouldn't even know it was gluten free. The only weird thing is that I took it out 20 minutes earlier than what the recipe called for because it was done. I was also cooking cookies at the same time, but I don't think that would have made that much of a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This was yummy. I love that you don't need zantham gum for this recipe. I was out of white rice flour so I substituted brown rice flour. Also, I had left over half-and-half so I added a tablespoon of vinegar to that and a little sour cream to make up the difference in the cup of buttermilk. This recipe did take 20 minutes less to bake but I don't think that is a negative. The outcome was delicious, it was bread! The brown rice gave it a fun darker color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. I am allergic to wheat and milk and so I just addapted the buttermilk to rice milk with 1 T vinegar. Most of the bread recipes that I have tried have turned out crumbly, but amazingly, this one is very nice and chewy. This will defenantly go in my recipe book! Like others have said, it needs to be about a total of 35 to 40 minutes cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great GF soda bread. Excellent warm with honey butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
this recipe is easy and comes out fine. As far as other people's comments as to this not turning out like true soda bread, I really don't know anything about that, but the bread is delicious and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waubaushene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was so delicious and so very simple to make. But with my flour mix, i added soy and cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kazanoodle
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Oh my gosh, guys: I'm eating bread. You have no idea how excited and thrilled I am to actually.be.eating.bread! This recipe was absurdly easy, and the ingredients are easy to find, as well, so it was also rather inexpensive to make. I didn't have any buttermilk (or any kind of milk, for that matter -- I'm dairy intolerant as well as gluten), so I added 2 tbs vinegar to some water to equal a cup. I also subbed out a half cup of rice flour for buckwheat flour and added ~2 tbs milled flaxseed (10g) and probably about ~1/4 c (10g) nutritional yeast to add some health to it. It is light, airy, and delicious -- thank you SO MUCH for this recipe! I almost cried. x)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I adore this bread! Tastes as good as any I've had in Ireland. I substitute brown rice syrup for sugar, and rice milk & apple cider vinegar for buttermilk. Best eaten fresh out of the oven, with stew or thick soup. This year I'm making it to use in stuffing for T-day. I predict it will be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I used brown rice flour and soy flour. Also cut back the sugar to 1/4 Cup. It was very good, but still very sweet. Would be a great breakfast bread, maybe with some orange zest and dried cranberries. I'm going to experiment with less sugar and the addition of herbs. Maybe sun dried tomatoes. Bake time is definitely closer to 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettyjean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Princeton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States