Gluten-Free Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. I am allergic to wheat and milk and so I just addapted the buttermilk to rice milk with 1 T vinegar. Most of the bread recipes that I have tried have turned out crumbly, but amazingly, this one is very nice and chewy. This will defenantly go in my recipe book! Like others have said, it needs to be about a total of 35 to 40 minutes cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This was yummy. I love that you don't need zantham gum for this recipe. I was out of white rice flour so I substituted brown rice flour. Also, I had left over half-and-half so I added a tablespoon of vinegar to that and a little sour cream to make up the difference in the cup of buttermilk. This recipe did take 20 minutes less to bake but I don't think that is a negative. The outcome was delicious, it was bread! The brown rice gave it a fun darker color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This recipe is fabulous. It was easy to make and tastes awesome. You wouldn't even know it was gluten free. The only weird thing is that I took it out 20 minutes earlier than what the recipe called for because it was done. I was also cooking cookies at the same time, but I don't think that would have made that much of a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I had high hopes for this bread after reading the reviews. In reality this bread is only so-so. It has the texture and moisture content of cornbread, but the taste of plain white bread. It would be fine for dipping in a soup, or making garlic toast from. It is not the soft bread for making sandwiches so many of us long for. Next I will try some of the other gluten-free bread recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Maybe it's the fact that I haven't eaten bread in several months but I thought this was delicious. It was sweet, moist and chewy. More like a yummy breakfast bread than a more traditional dry soda bread. I substituted soy flour for the tapioca flour, and milk curdled with 1 TBS apple cider vinegar for the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kazanoodle
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Oh my gosh, guys: I'm eating bread. You have no idea how excited and thrilled I am to actually.be.eating.bread! This recipe was absurdly easy, and the ingredients are easy to find, as well, so it was also rather inexpensive to make. I didn't have any buttermilk (or any kind of milk, for that matter -- I'm dairy intolerant as well as gluten), so I added 2 tbs vinegar to some water to equal a cup. I also subbed out a half cup of rice flour for buckwheat flour and added ~2 tbs milled flaxseed (10g) and probably about ~1/4 c (10g) nutritional yeast to add some health to it. It is light, airy, and delicious -- thank you SO MUCH for this recipe! I almost cried. x)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Very good recipe! I think it tastes a lot more like a cornbread style bread than soda bread, but still very, very tasty! I was out of whit rice flour so I used brown, and plain yogurt for buttermilk (I use this substitution all the time). I think next time I'll cut back the sugar to 1/3 or 1/4 c.,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Niobe
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I used brown rice flour instead of white and buckwheat flour instead of tapioca. Also used a bread tin to get the loaf shape! Like many others, I reduced the cooking time by about 20 mins. It is a nice, simple recipe and tastes good. Best of all it is guilt free as I have a wheat intolerance - so thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niobe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This is very, very good. It's a little sweet, but that's okay with us. The bake time is way off, though. I have a convection oven which reduces the baking time, but it still took only 25 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This recipe was tasty but the bread cooks much faster than amount of time written in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States