Gluten-Free Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Kazanoodle
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Oh my gosh, guys: I'm eating bread. You have no idea how excited and thrilled I am to actually.be.eating.bread! This recipe was absurdly easy, and the ingredients are easy to find, as well, so it was also rather inexpensive to make. I didn't have any buttermilk (or any kind of milk, for that matter -- I'm dairy intolerant as well as gluten), so I added 2 tbs vinegar to some water to equal a cup. I also subbed out a half cup of rice flour for buckwheat flour and added ~2 tbs milled flaxseed (10g) and probably about ~1/4 c (10g) nutritional yeast to add some health to it. It is light, airy, and delicious -- thank you SO MUCH for this recipe! I almost cried. x)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was so delicious and so very simple to make. But with my flour mix, i added soy and cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
My brother has a severe gluten allergy but we are very Irish and St. Patrick's Day is an actual familly holiday in our house. I made this for him because he always has to miss out on the good holiday stuff. It turned out very well and he devoured every inch of the entire loaf! It is lucky, however, that I checked it's progress a good 20-25 minutes before the recipe called for it to be done. It was almost OVERdone. So I would agree to cut cooking time by about 30 minutes. But do that and it should turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janis0201

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Tried this and was not impressed. Will try a different type of G.F. flour mix like fava bean next time and see if it improves. Seemed very rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Niobe
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I used brown rice flour instead of white and buckwheat flour instead of tapioca. Also used a bread tin to get the loaf shape! Like many others, I reduced the cooking time by about 20 mins. It is a nice, simple recipe and tastes good. Best of all it is guilt free as I have a wheat intolerance - so thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niobe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
this recipe is easy and comes out fine. As far as other people's comments as to this not turning out like true soda bread, I really don't know anything about that, but the bread is delicious and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waubaushene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Maybe it's the fact that I haven't eaten bread in several months but I thought this was delicious. It was sweet, moist and chewy. More like a yummy breakfast bread than a more traditional dry soda bread. I substituted soy flour for the tapioca flour, and milk curdled with 1 TBS apple cider vinegar for the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great GF soda bread. Excellent warm with honey butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I had high hopes for this bread after reading the reviews. In reality this bread is only so-so. It has the texture and moisture content of cornbread, but the taste of plain white bread. It would be fine for dipping in a soup, or making garlic toast from. It is not the soft bread for making sandwiches so many of us long for. Next I will try some of the other gluten-free bread recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This is very, very good. It's a little sweet, but that's okay with us. The bake time is way off, though. I have a convection oven which reduces the baking time, but it still took only 25 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States