Gluten-Free Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I used brown rice flour and soy flour. Also cut back the sugar to 1/4 Cup. It was very good, but still very sweet. Would be a great breakfast bread, maybe with some orange zest and dried cranberries. I'm going to experiment with less sugar and the addition of herbs. Maybe sun dried tomatoes. Bake time is definitely closer to 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Princeton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I adore this bread! Tastes as good as any I've had in Ireland. I substitute brown rice syrup for sugar, and rice milk & apple cider vinegar for buttermilk. Best eaten fresh out of the oven, with stew or thick soup. This year I'm making it to use in stuffing for T-day. I predict it will be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kazanoodle
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Oh my gosh, guys: I'm eating bread. You have no idea how excited and thrilled I am to actually.be.eating.bread! This recipe was absurdly easy, and the ingredients are easy to find, as well, so it was also rather inexpensive to make. I didn't have any buttermilk (or any kind of milk, for that matter -- I'm dairy intolerant as well as gluten), so I added 2 tbs vinegar to some water to equal a cup. I also subbed out a half cup of rice flour for buckwheat flour and added ~2 tbs milled flaxseed (10g) and probably about ~1/4 c (10g) nutritional yeast to add some health to it. It is light, airy, and delicious -- thank you SO MUCH for this recipe! I almost cried. x)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was so delicious and so very simple to make. But with my flour mix, i added soy and cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
My brother has a severe gluten allergy but we are very Irish and St. Patrick's Day is an actual familly holiday in our house. I made this for him because he always has to miss out on the good holiday stuff. It turned out very well and he devoured every inch of the entire loaf! It is lucky, however, that I checked it's progress a good 20-25 minutes before the recipe called for it to be done. It was almost OVERdone. So I would agree to cut cooking time by about 30 minutes. But do that and it should turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janis0201

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Tried this and was not impressed. Will try a different type of G.F. flour mix like fava bean next time and see if it improves. Seemed very rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Niobe
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I used brown rice flour instead of white and buckwheat flour instead of tapioca. Also used a bread tin to get the loaf shape! Like many others, I reduced the cooking time by about 20 mins. It is a nice, simple recipe and tastes good. Best of all it is guilt free as I have a wheat intolerance - so thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niobe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
this recipe is easy and comes out fine. As far as other people's comments as to this not turning out like true soda bread, I really don't know anything about that, but the bread is delicious and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waubaushene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Maybe it's the fact that I haven't eaten bread in several months but I thought this was delicious. It was sweet, moist and chewy. More like a yummy breakfast bread than a more traditional dry soda bread. I substituted soy flour for the tapioca flour, and milk curdled with 1 TBS apple cider vinegar for the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great GF soda bread. Excellent warm with honey butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States