Gluten-Free Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I like this bread. Very easy to make. I have just started on a no gluten diet due to an allergy to wheat. This was is my first try at backing gluten free. I am also dairy free so I substituted almond milk and lemon for the butter milk. I also melted some gluten free butter substitute and poured it over the top and sprinkled some gluten free oat bran on top. I also sifted the flours, backing soda, and baking powder, and salt together, before adding the egg and "milk". I hope it will toast up nice for breakfast with jelly. I will let you know. I think I will add some chopped walnuts, or some pumpkin seeds in it next time to add some more fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I used barley flour for this recipe and it was excellent. My tastebuds are fairly sensitive to sodium though, and this recipe has a bit much salt for me. Next time I make it, I'll cut down on the salt. Otherwise: fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used 1 cup ground oatmeal, 1/2c. rice flour, 1/4 tapioca flour, and 1/4 cup finely ground flax seed for the flours. I used no sugar, but instead used 1 tablesppon real maple syrup, 1 tblspn. honey, and 2 tablespoons milk whey. I also added 1 teaspoon cardomen and a handful of raisens. This turned out so nice. Baked for about 35 minutes. Nice brown color, great texture and gently flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
had to make mine egg free as well, used flax seed/water mixture. didn't have buttermilk so I added 1 TBSP of lemon juice to regular milk. I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Easy to make and it came out perfect. Used a bread plan to shape as a loaf instead of a pie. Bake time was only 35 minutes as people mentioned. Only question I have as I only baked this for a friend who has to go gluten-free is why no raisins? Are they bad?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This bread came out great. It is simple to make and holds together well, it is way too sweet I will reduce sugar next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
yum! I didn't have rice flour so I substituted 1/2 cup flaxseed flour + 1/2 cup plantain flour + 1/2 cup quinoa flour. I also substituted the buttermilk with almond milk and 1/2 tsp of vinegar, and omitted the baking powder and added another 1/2 tsp baking soda because I have a corn allergy. It came out amazing!! It's more of a corn bread texture but still delicious. Very good recipe, will try it with rice flour next time but it's good to know that really any flours work in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was pretty tasty! I did use a super fine rice flour and only baked it for 30 minutes and it was perfect! Next time I might add in some raisins...Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I used brown rice flour and soy flour. Also cut back the sugar to 1/4 Cup. It was very good, but still very sweet. Would be a great breakfast bread, maybe with some orange zest and dried cranberries. I'm going to experiment with less sugar and the addition of herbs. Maybe sun dried tomatoes. Bake time is definitely closer to 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Princeton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I adore this bread! Tastes as good as any I've had in Ireland. I substitute brown rice syrup for sugar, and rice milk & apple cider vinegar for buttermilk. Best eaten fresh out of the oven, with stew or thick soup. This year I'm making it to use in stuffing for T-day. I predict it will be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States