Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
The ingredients sounds very healthy. I will try it. I might add to it some cinnemon and butter for more flavor. Also, I wonder if it can be used as a substitute for flour to make pancake or cookies. You probably need to add baking powder since the ingredients are gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I've been making changes to our diet as far as going organic and also as gluten free as possible. This was a keeper and with the diet I'm on, this was perfect; healthy and filling. I even served with fresh berries for a treat. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is so good! I didn't have any amaranth the first time I made it, so I just omitted it and it was good that way too. It has become a staple in our house. It's really good if you add a tablespoon or so of cocoa powder per cup of cereal--especially if you sweeten it with maple syrup. Reminds me of Cocoa Wheats, only healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Great recipe, and inspiration! Make it your own with what you have on hand! We used white rice (will use brown next time), 1/2 c quinoa, 1/4 c chia seeds, 1/4 c. raw walnuts, 1/4 c. raw sunflower seeds, 3/4 c spelt flakes, 1/4 c ground flax seed and 1/2 c steel cut oats, for example (we don't do corn or wheat in our house, but no matter!). We blend all our grains in the blender, then carefully use the handle end of a wooden spoon to stir, always keeping the wood on the glass sides of the blender. This way the nuts and grains keep moving, not gummed up in the bottom. Add in the end: cranberries, raisens, cranberry/orange relish from Christmas, creamed honey, cinnamon, banana, jam/preserves, options are endless! My two- and four-year-olds ate it up! A super welcome change to oatmeal, according to them. I think you could probably soak all in water with a teaspoon or so of vinegar and salt ~ 24 hours if you prefer that method of "cooking." Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Good gluten free cereal. I used a coffee grinder to grind up the flax seed too. The blend takes more time to fully cook than stated. When I remember, I make it the night before and reheat with soy milk in the morning. Add some brown suger and the kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I didn't bother to grind this up. I just put all the ingredients in a container and shook it up. Then I used 1/3 cup of cereal mix to 1 cup of water. My DD left her cinnamon flavored flax with me, and that made if smell really good as it heated up! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Awesome, I didn't have the rice or amaranth but I did add some Kamut flakes, Spelt kernels and sunflower seeds. I didn't grind either, love the texture and chewiness of all the grains. Husband LOVED it!! You can mix this up and have many variations. We sweeten with Stevia as it is a natural sweetener. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poetic_thing

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This was really good. I used teff instead of corn meal and I didn't add sesame seeds. My kids said it tasted just like oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMLOR
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Excellent recipe! However, I've noticed that some of these ingredients, like rice and the ones I buy in bulk, should probably be rinsed before cooking. But they have to be dried before grinding. In the future I will look for no-rinse-required ingredients; for now maybe rinse then dry in a warm oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
It's an interesting blend of grains, but oatmeal and grits have always been gluten-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States